reeeaaallllyyy laggy computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2006, 10:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to werdna35
Default reeeaaallllyyy laggy computer

My one room mates laptop is really laggy. Like lots of processes that he doesn't need. Spyware and virus's and junk. He has a crap anti-virus thing (norton with outdated definitions and all that kind of stuff) and it is taking up 10 Gigs of his HDD. I installed the school provided virus protection and some other things I use that work very well. I am trying to remove the Norton but it won't let me. I tried thr add/remove programs way and I get a message to the effect of "norton is running and cannot be closed. setup will now exit." I turned norton off. Live updates, protections, everything like that and it still won't let me delete it. I tried deleting it through Explorer but it won't let me there either. Please help!

P.S. I can't do anything like HiJackthis or DL much more stuff on his computer until norton is out. He only has a 33 gig HDD and 10 of it is taken up by Norton and I don't he has room for anything else at this point.
__________________

werdna35 is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 11:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Boot into safe mode, and remove it from there.

http://www.askdavetaylor.com/how_can...my_system.html

http://sniptools.com/tutorials/unins...rton-antivirus

Follow the above sites.
__________________

__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 12:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to werdna35
Default

That first one gave me a list of over 100 different random things and the second suggest doing what I tried.
werdna35 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 12:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Did you try it in SAFEMODE?
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 12:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Sorry, about the first site, it was suppose to take you to something else, but use the next program. It's from Symmatec, and your buddy's computer should have enough room for it.

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=3077
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.