Really stupid question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2005, 12:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default Really stupid question

I turn off my computer and when i turned it back on my toolbar which is usually at the bottom is now along the side of the screen. It's really pissing me off and i can't seem to make it go back on the bottom! Someone please help me!
__________________

__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 12:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

I know that if you don't shut down your computer properly then it doesn't save the desktop settings, but Im sure you are doing it right.
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 02:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to RevCor632
Default

That's happened to me before. Just click and hold in the space right under the Start button (other places may work, try anywhere) and drag it down to the bottom where it usually is.
RevCor632 is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 04:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Do you mean the taskbar with the start menu? I think if you right click on it and deselect Lock Taskbar or something, you can then move it around and lock it again when you're done.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 04:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by m3trj
Do you mean the taskbar with the start menu? I think if you right click on it and deselect Lock Taskbar or something, you can then move it around and lock it again when you're done.

yes

that is right

this works
Chrono is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 03:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

i don't know what i did but it's back where it should be. Thanks guys
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 03:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Nice to see someone accomplished something so _fast_.
__________________

SkyHi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.