Really really big problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2005, 08:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
Default Really really big problem

Ok.. letme explain, thanks first off.

Ok, heres my problem.

I got sick of Windows 98 so i tried to reformat and the operating system messed up, so i made a windows 98 boot disc and it came up with a command type prompt thing, i managed to re formated my C: drive (By typing "format C:") now, i gues that means i have no windows 98 install, i then proceeded to call the Volume C and that was that.

Ok, heres where the fun begins.

1. The only disc i have is Windows 98 Update 2 (Its a update disc - not the real thing)

2. I'd much rather install Debian Linux than windows 98 becuase i will be running a server

3. Everytime i pop in any other CD disc other than my Windows 98 boot disc, it says disc error.

4. Windows 98 is completely Un installed and theres no way to get it back that i can see.

Really really thanks for the help. Its a much older system but i know it can handly it, i don't want windows Xp on it becuase it would just eat the resources. Thanks alot againr eally
__________________

QuickStar is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 08:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 467
Default

If it's an update disc I don't think you can really install 98 from it. Try deleting the partitions completely, and then run your Debian cd.
__________________

__________________
TheRecluse is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 09:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
Default

Whats the command to delete paritions completely? I only have access to the boot discs command prompt.
QuickStar is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 09:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

fdisk will delete the partitions.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 10:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 467
Default

yeah, run fdisk and follow what it says.. it's pretty self explanitory
__________________
TheRecluse is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 12:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
Default

Hmmm, ok. Thanks, thats what i needed to know, now.. to keep things rolling smoothley (TY Alot btw, this is my passed time project im working on and now i need to use it as a gaming server for some friends)

1. Thanks btw.

2. Debian would be the right choice for a gaming server am i right? (Thats what me and another guy i used to work with used, debian was always used for running web servers)

3. Ok, sense i moved to a new office all my old office supplies were stripped and im now without a copy of Debian, i downloaded it from its website as a .iso, and just copied it over to a blank CD and burnt it (I didn't think it needed anything else, i always thought .iso were always good) Anyways i popped it in and nothing loaded, i was like.. what the hell. This is the proper way to do it am i right? If not... can you please enlighten on the proper way? I was always server management (Like databases and stuff) never worked on the hardware.. that was my friend, then again, that was for a real job, this is just a past time.

Anyways thanks for you're help, maybe if Debian is not what i needed, you could tell me what is! Thanks Alot!
QuickStar is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 12:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 467
Default

If you have Nero, or some other burning software, burn it as a image or saved project. It needs to be burned as an image.

Any distro of linux can be used as a server because every linux is essentially the same. they all just have a different way of handling certain things.

anyway, i've never really made a disc without nero, so that's the only way i know it will work.
__________________
TheRecluse is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 01:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
Default

Hmm that still doesn't seem to do it, i pop the disc in, the computer starts, and it comes up with a black screen stating No Operating System is installed. Will i have to refer back to my Windows 98 boot disc in order to load the files or something along those lines?
QuickStar is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 02:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 467
Default

do you have your bios set up to boot from the cdrom?
__________________
TheRecluse is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 02:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
Default

Yes. Aslong as by that you mean i push F1 to enter set up mode when the computer is booting up. I set it to "ATAPI CD-ROM)
__________________

QuickStar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.