REAL stupid ? but I havent a clue... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2005, 10:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 69
Question REAL stupid ? but I havent a clue...

Ok....I'm sure many of you are going to balk at this one..but for the LIFE of me I cannot figure it out. Here goes...

I have McAfee that I updated and purchased online (previous version ran out) - My question is HOW in THIS WORLD do I copy the current version of McAfee to a stupid disc???!!! I've tried everything I know and it wont copy it - it either says I'm missing files or it just wont run.

Can I not copy McAfee from my computer? This is gonna suck if I cant because I paid for the latest version and I want a disc just in case something happens to my system - no hardcopy is available.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
Deb
__________________

justdeb is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 10:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 119
Default

if u downloaded it, did u save teh executable install program? if so, then just burn that to a cd.
when u buy that stuff online it does that activeX control alot of teh times or if u just clicked run instead of save and you might not be able to get a cd at all. you should be able to get another license if anything happens if u just email mcafee, explaining what happened, giving them ur username and password.

P.S. McAfee sucks, get norton or one of these.
Antivirus / AntiSpyware:
AVG - http://www.grisoft.com/us/us_index.php
Avast - http://www.avast.com/
AntiVir - http://www.free-av.com/
Panda ActiveScan - http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan
Ad-Aware - http://www.lavasoft.de/software/adaware/
Spybot: Search & Destroy - http://spybot.safer-networking.de/
CWShredder - http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/downloads.html
Hijack This - http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/downloads.html
IE-SPYAD - http://www.staff.uiuc.edu/~ehowes/resource.htm#IESPYAD
SpywareBlaster - http://www.javacoolsoftware.com
http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/downloads.html
http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 3400+ s939 / ASUS A8V Deluxe (K8T800Pro) / Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 (2 x 256) Corsair Value DDR 400 (2 x 512) / ATI Radeaon 9600XT / Seagate 120 GB/
deadweight is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 10:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Cody
Default

You didn't mention Trend Micro :O
Whats really neat is last night I was VPNed into my network at work doing some work and I run PC Cillin 2005 from Trend Micro and i got a Network Security Alert saying that the lass exploit had passed threw the network and whats even neater is i exported the logs from my Firewall and i got all the IP address this exploit was being transfered from and was able to patch those machines this morning (exptect for those monkeys in Dallas)
__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
2 GB PC 3200 DUal-Channel
ATI Radeon 7500 (Omega driver)
2 x 120 GB Maxtor 7200
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Viewsonic 19\" CRT
WinXp Pro SP2
--------------------------------------------------
<a href=\"http://lantastic.techforums.info/\">The Gaming Forums</a>
Cody is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 10:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 69
Default

Ok..this is what I want to do...

I have my old computer that is NOT hooked up online...it has MAJOR issues going on and I want to run the updated McAfee that I have on this computer on that one.....

McAfee says I have to purchase the disc AGAIN, but in the store to do that. That's rape plain and simple in my book!! I already paid for the current version...regardless if it was online or not.

If I have IntelliMover...can I copy and transfer what programs I have on my new computer to my old one? I used that when I got the new computer to transfer the other files and programs to my Dell.

I'm getting aggrevated here LOL!! Kinda like gasoline prices...they know ya need gas to make your vehicle run ....same thing with software - we need it...so we have to pay again - doesnt sound right to me.

PS) McAfee said "your version is set to expire 11/05" - okay..that I knew and they are supposed to be there to HELP?? *rolls eyes* - so to answer your ? about asking to reinstall or contact them - that was the answer I was given....
justdeb is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 11:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Mcafee is just plain stupid and annoying.

Free programs like AVG are better than any version of mcafee.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 11:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

get AVG much better. u kan update it from a file, u dont need a internet connecton lol i agree wit DJ-Chris
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 11:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 69
Default

AVG doesnt update any longer according to their site....?? I've never heard of it (I have most of the others that were listed and then some that are not listed...)...
justdeb is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 03:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

they do update i have it lol. it worx. get da full for 14 dayz den enter a serial from www.serials.ws
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 03:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Default

wait is serials you can get free software, is that legal?
__________________

__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.