Readyboost questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2008, 08:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Readyboost questions

I just bought a 4GB readyboost flash drive. I insert the drive and bring up the properties under that drive and click the "enable readyboost" box. It writes a file on that drive named "readyboost" Later that day or the next day if I click on that drive under "my puter" It says that the folder is empty. Like there's nothing on the drive. I am confused????? Is this thing working or what?
__________________

__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 09:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Readyboost questions

You basically are wasting it. You have 4GB already. Readyboost is useless for anything over 1GB. So trying to use a 4GB Readyboost with 4GB of RAM is gonna accomplish nothing for you. Nothing at all. That could be why your system erased the file off the Flash Drive. As it was never needed to be used.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 04:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: Readyboost questions

I thought maybe it would shave a second or two off the startup.
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 06:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Readyboost questions

When yo already have 4GB of RAM. The only thing that will save yo uon startup is removing things that startup.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workout Questions. KCRMYZ Off Topic Discussion 33 09-30-2008 06:30 PM
apple OS questions. solidsteve Apple and Mac 11 01-13-2008 05:13 PM
Simple voltage questions. manowar Overclocking and Modding 8 01-03-2008 05:05 PM
Lots of questions help.... pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-01-2007 02:28 AM
Two questions before pulling the trigger... Portland Newb New Systems | Building and Buying 12 08-16-2007 01:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.