Ready to Jump Off The Roof - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2004, 02:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to Helixxxer
Angry Ready to Jump Off The Roof

OK. So, my old computer, an hp Pavilion which I had bought from tigerdirect online, came with Windows XP home edition on it. Recently I have upgraded my computer with a new motherboard, case, processor... basically a whole new computer minus my graphics card and the hard drive. I finally got everything set up and I turn it on and it starts up beautifully! Then, I try to log into to Windows under my name. It begins to log in and then stops and says that I have to register the product. Fine. My room (where the computer is) doesn't have an internet connection so I choose the option of registering over the phone. I call and read the 9 set of 6 digit numbers (yes that's 54 numbers) key to the machine over the phone. When I get done, it checks to see if my registration code works so it can give me the new key to unlock it, and it says that it is invalid! I've tried it three times in case I messed up saying one of the numbers and I read very clearly and carefully to the machine. The machine even told me I was doing good!! Anyway, I've called microsoft and hp and none of the foreign speakers could help me and they wanted to charge me $40.00 for REAL techinical support, which obviously I didn't want. They kept pointing me back to the same damn number for registration which doesn't work. All I need is the key so I can log in!! I'm thinking, if nothing else, it created some sort of key on the previous hardware and a new one on this since it saw some of the components change, but I don't understand that if I still have the same HD. Somebody help me!! I can't even purge everything and start over cuz I don't have the CDs because it came with the old computer.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks...
__________________

Helixxxer is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 02:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

Where is the old computer? If the CD's came with it and you said you upgaded, you should still have them. Liz
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 03:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to Helixxxer
Default

That's the thing, the CD's didn't come with it. Unless they're still in the box which i doubt or I've misplaced them. But I have copies of Windows XP Pro and other stuff I could put on there, but I don't want to have to go through all that.
Helixxxer is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

uh, ehem, watch what you say you have copies of there.
jaksback is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 04:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to Helixxxer
Default

Lol. NO, I mean copies as in ligitimate forms of Windows. I have all the numbers to prove it!! I swear!!
Helixxxer is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 04:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

haha ok, just don't want anybody to incriminate themselves or make cause for alarm here....it does happen too.
jaksback is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 04:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to Helixxxer
Default

Yes yes, good point. I've heard of such things. Next time, a better word usage will be in order.
Helixxxer is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 05:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Call that number and speak to an actual person. tell them you upgraded your computer with better parts.

give your xp version no. in your system properties. this tells them which XP disc you using

they will give a new code. Especially if you demand it
EricB is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 11:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to Helixxxer
Default

How do I get to my system properties if I can't log in??
Helixxxer is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 11:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

I might have a program that will tell you your serial number let me look around and ill post again in a bit.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.