Re: ? Your How To Restore tutorial

Status
Not open for further replies.

ekÆsine

Fully Optimized
Re: ? Your How To Restore tutorial

techsupport wrote on 01-03-2005 08:49 AM:
Hello,

I am a newbie here and found your great tutorial and decided to give it a try and it worked great, thanks for adding the info about the hidden partition that is a big help, I would just like to know what to do to add an option on boot to restore the image from the hidden partition on the hard drive or from the cdrw/dvdr drive, (what I want to do is have the recovery partition on the hard drive and I also want to be able to restore it from the same boot dvd that I'm using to restore from the hard drive). Any help would be appreciated.

also I was wondering how do hp/compaq, etc.. initiate the system restores upon boot by pressing f10 or whatever... is this easy to do?

To be able to restore it from both a hidden partition on your hard disk and also from a restore CD or DVD requires making 2 restore discs. you will make a CD with the autoexec file telling ghost where your image is on your hidden partition. You would also make another DVD that has the image on it and also a different autoexec file telling ghost that your image is on your DVD

Symantec made GDISK that allows you to hide logical drives inside an extended partition or primary partition on a basic MBR disks. Symantec Ghost was designed to be able to read and write to these hidden partitions. You will see them visible in Ghost when you choose which filename to create or restore images to.