Re-using an XP installation? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2007, 07:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re-using an XP installation?

Hi. My freind is planning a new PC build and he wants to reuse his hard-drive and the XP installation from his HP Pavillion in the new PC. He wil change EVERY part of the PC except his Hard Drive, so will the XP install work? Or will he need to ring up MS for a new key? If he rings them up, will they give him a new key if he tells them this? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 08:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
helix2301's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Datacenter
Posts: 280
Send a message via AIM to helix2301
Default Re: Re-using an XP installation?

He will defiantly have to reinstall XP. If this is an oem copy from the manufacture he might not have to call them up I am pretty positive he will not have to call them up. OEM copies usually are pretty generic.
__________________

__________________
lipanitech
http://www.thetechnologygeek.org
HP Pro, A+, Network+, Linux+, Security+, MCTS
helix2301 is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 08:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default Re: Re-using an XP installation?

It goes in accordance to how many time you've activated windows xp, once i reformatted and reinstalled windows twice within a week and it came up as you've exceeded the activation or whatever for this key, you should be fine if you do it once every like month
backup287 is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 08:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Re-using an XP installation?

So how will he find out his current key for when it comes to installing the fresh new XP?
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 08:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default Re: Re-using an XP installation?

what he doesnt know what his product key is?
backup287 is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 09:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
TKF
True Techie
 
TKF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 123
Default Re: Re-using an XP installation?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
So how will he find out his current key for when it comes to installing the fresh new XP?
Run Belarc Advisor
Belarc Advisor - Free Personal PC Audit
TKF is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 10:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Re-using an XP installation?

So basically, if i get the current key, he wont have to buy XP again?
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 10:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default Re: Re-using an XP installation?

No never, its only to prevent installation on more than one computer, but they really have no way of knowing other than the amount of times the key has been activated online in which case you can call up and just claim its the same computer just reformated drive
backup287 is offline  
Old 01-01-2008, 08:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Re-using an XP installation?

Read this:

System Locked Preinstallation - www.Tech-Dump.com
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 01:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Re-using an XP installation?

you can reinstall xp without the xp cd with that hp as it probably has an i386 folder on the hard drive. you just need a bart pe or erd commander disc
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
remove windows installation? Peter.Cort Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-29-2007 03:47 PM
Installation files vipz1702 Programming 4 11-12-2007 04:33 AM
Vista Installation Help! vitch144 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 09-29-2007 02:09 PM
Windows Installation Problem ksmarks Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-07-2007 04:06 PM
Software installation problem..... -RockMan- Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-30-2007 04:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.