RDP Printer Sharing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2006, 08:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 61
Default RDP Printer Sharing

Hey Team,

Have any of you tried to use local Printers on a Remote Machine. For example: I'm using my lapto trying to connedt back to my home PC and i wanted to a document to print to a mobile local priter? any sugggetions?
__________________

beans4000 is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 09:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Hey man.......
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 02:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 61
Default

Do any of you have ideas regarding this issue
beans4000 is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 02:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Yes, I do it all the time. I VPN to my work desktop and print stuff off so I wont forget.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 02:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 61
Default

is there a free VPN solution? These machines are apart of a workgroup that use RDP as the primary connection for remote access
__________________
eat more means
beans4000 is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 02:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Your work should have one. We use Nortel
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 02:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 61
Default

But it's not for work.... It's a home PC enviroment and a laptop I use the laptop to remote into my home PC and i have a mobile printer. I was just wondering if it were possible to Print files off of the desktop using the mobile printer and laptop Via RDP or some other solution.
__________________
eat more means
beans4000 is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 03:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

ok. I see now. open RD, go to options, local resources, check all local devices....
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.