Random Restarts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2005, 06:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default Random Restarts

I am running on an ABS computer @ 1.4 ghz with a radeon 9200. Which is running with a Windows XP Home Edition.

What happens:

I left my computer on last night, and I get a Windows Error message when I wake up, so I restart. Now everytime I restart and log into my account, it will load for a second to the point where I just see the taskbar. There are no icons, none in the taskbar, I can't press the Start buttion, it will give me the thinking cursor. When I end task and go into processes, and performance its @ 100% and i have only 20 processes running. So I tried waiting it out a couple times and it will just restart by itself. Please help me!
__________________

taky is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 06:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

turn off windows error reporting and see if it dont go away.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 06:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 68
Default

Something similar happend to me. I suspected a virus. In the end I had to rebuild the machine.
__________________
Talk is based on the assumption that you can get somewhere if you keep putting one word after another
Deathwalker is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 11:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

Reboot into safe mode and look at the system event viewer. if that will work
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 12:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default

How do I turn off system report error without being able to access start, and having no desktop icons? Same with safe mode.
taky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.