Random Restart - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2004, 12:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Angry Random Restart

i have a problem, my computer randomly restarts! it's really annoying, i'm in a progam, any program, Flash, Photoshop, dungeon siege, even spider solitaire, and my screen goes black and restarts, and then once i'm back onto windows, i get a ' your system has recovered from a serious error' and then when i click on it to see the details i get this....

BCCode : 1000008e BCP1 : C000001D BCP2 : FC116260 BCP3 : FC8D7E80
BCP4 : 00000000 OSVer : 5_1_2600 SP : 2_0 Product : 256_1

And if i click on the details thing or w/e it shows me:

C:\DOCUME~1\r0rY\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER698d.dir00\Mini1 11404-09.dmp
C:\DOCUME~1\r0rY\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER698d.dir00\sysda ta.xml

does anyone know what these files are? ^

I've read around on the internet, and i've read that it might be a memory problem, i'm considering getting some more ram but i don't want to spend the money until i know the cause for sure.
__________________

svyum is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 01:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Send a message via ICQ to suker Send a message via AIM to suker Send a message via Yahoo to suker
Default

1.. you can use sfc.exe /scannow to check and fix your system files form a os install cd!

2. you can login in safe mode and del files:
C:\DOCUME~1\r0rY\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER698d.dir00\Mini1 11404-09.dmp
C:\DOCUME~1\r0rY\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER698d.dir00\sysda ta.xml

3. in safe mode ,run regedit.exe to scan and search you register table for those two files, and del the key assignments
__________________

__________________
Never too Old to Learn
Never too Old to Make Friends


AIM : cqpc120
MSN : cqpc120@msn.com
Yahoo: cqpc120
suker is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 01:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

No, don't delete those files. Its useless and could damage your system.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 01:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Send a message via ICQ to suker Send a message via AIM to suker Send a message via Yahoo to suker
Default

I have met the same problem, and solved it just in the that way

trust me !

del it , then you computer will get work
__________________
Never too Old to Learn
Never too Old to Make Friends


AIM : cqpc120
MSN : cqpc120@msn.com
Yahoo: cqpc120
suker is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 01:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

No, it might be safe cause its tmp, but its just the memorydump, it won't fix anything.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 01:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You either have an incompatible RAM configuration or a faulty stick. Test your RAM with memtest86+
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 01:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Send a message via ICQ to suker Send a message via AIM to suker Send a message via Yahoo to suker
Default

del those files, it doesnt matter!

when you reboot your computer, the new dump file will be builded again! and the problem will be fixed!
__________________
Never too Old to Learn
Never too Old to Make Friends


AIM : cqpc120
MSN : cqpc120@msn.com
Yahoo: cqpc120
suker is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 01:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I say you test your ram sticks with memtest86+ like major suggested before you go deleting stuff
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 01:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

The dump file is just a temporary way of saving information. Its in no way needed to run your system.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 08:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default

Having exactly the sane problems, although improved slightly after use of AdawareSE & Spybot S&D.
How, what is memtest86+, and how is it used, where do I find it?

Please post how you get on...........
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.