Random Pop-Ups - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2007, 01:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Exclamation Random Pop-Ups

When ever I use my Internet Explorer, some random pop up page will pop up with advertisements and other stuff. My popup blocker is on and is on High Level. I have ran Ad Aware and AVG Virus and they found some stuff and it deleated it but its still poping up? Any suggestions?


Thanks!
__________________

__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 09:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Random Pop-Ups

Are you running SP2?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 12:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default Re: Random Pop-Ups

Yes. That would be Win XP Pro SP 2

Thanks.
__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 08:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Random Pop-Ups

Do you have a firewall that can block some pop ups or have you tried IE7Pro? That has a built in ad blocker which might help you out.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 10:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Random Pop-Ups

Have you disabled windows messenger? If not, you should.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 11:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default Re: Random Pop-Ups

your browser might be hijacked. Try Hijackthis to see for sure.
__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 11:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Random Pop-Ups

Why are you still using IE.
Opera>Firefox>>>>>>>>>>>> IE
Ste is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 04:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default Re: Random Pop-Ups

How do I get to the "Hijackthis" website or whatever it is? Also, I have IE7 and my pop up blocker is on and in High Mode.


Thanks
__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 08:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Random Pop-Ups

HijackThis Tutorial - How to use HijackThis to remove Browser Hijackers & Spyware
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 09:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Random Pop-Ups

Quote:
Originally Posted by superdave1984 View Post
Have you disabled windows messenger? If not, you should.
SP2 automatically disables Windows Messenger.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclones View Post
How do I get to the "Hijackthis" website or whatever it is? Also, I have IE7 and my pop up blocker is on and in High Mode.


Thanks
Then you have spyware on your PC.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Random Powerup/shutdown loops Skeeter35 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 09-28-2007 04:15 AM
Pop ups! Rawmaterial HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 09-26-2007 12:45 PM
Random reboot - temperature? Gaelfinn Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-19-2007 03:37 PM
Random lock ups and restarts while gaming M@$t3r_N30 New Systems | Building and Buying 19 07-03-2007 11:21 PM
Cigarette Adapter Question (random)? welsh Off Topic Discussion 4 04-18-2007 01:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.