Random "file corrupt" error message - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2006, 08:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Random "file corrupt" error message

I get a random file corrupt error message when accessing folders with large files, or many small files inside (ie: video files or image files), not neccesarily the same folder every time, and not neccisarily the same folder all the time either.

Once this error window pops up and I click OK, windows explorer closes and restarts.

Thing is, one minute, the message pops up, and the next time I access the folder, the files are fine and the message is gone.

Is my harddrive failing? It's been a few years since it's been replaced, and it's a 24/7 on machine.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 08:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Defrag it and run a spyware/virus check.

Then download PowerMax and do a full scan to check your hard drive.
__________________

__________________

Law is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 04:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Will do, my AVG scans daily, but I'll run spybot and adaware, then a defrag with diskeeper.

What exactly is powermax by the way? A free utility?
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 05:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

powermax is a harddrive utility from maxtor.

If you're doing virus scans daily you may well have worn the hard drive out, check its smart status, run a chkdsk /r, and defrag with o&o
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 11:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MrCoffee
powermax is a harddrive utility from maxtor.

If you're doing virus scans daily you may well have worn the hard drive out, check its smart status, run a chkdsk /r, and defrag with o&o

Nahhhh....
scanning for viruses won't wear the hard drive out.
Snump is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 01:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Snump
Nahhhh....
scanning for viruses won't wear the hard drive out.
you're joking right?
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 05:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

I did the checkdisk this morning and I had to leave it running because it was taking over two hours and I had to leave for work, I was hoping for a log file or message when I came home but no, it just booted up like normal.

So I'll try to get a hold of powermax and o&o somehow and try those out.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 09:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

your drive is a western digital right?

Check out these WD tools on geeks:

here

and here
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 10:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

IF the error only accurs some of the time, not all the time. that would make me feel more secure about the HDD... but worse about maybe your Ram or CPU. Windows system problems themself is probably also a possibility since Windows seem i guess could give you any # of issues only related to Windows software issues. If its a realy old Clogged up windows install, A clean Reformat/reinstall may be in need soon.

For CPU and Ram use theses:

run Prime95's Torture Test and it will tell you if your CPU or posisbly Ram give any ERRORs.
http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft.htm

Memtest will strait up test your Ram, just Boot from the "pre-compiled package for floppy" or ISO if you dont have a floppy but have a CD burner.
http://www.memtest.org/#downiso
jolancer is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 10:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Reading the last two posts makes me seem like it's the memory. I'd hate to replace my OCZ copper sticks

Just last week I did a full format with a fresh install of XP Home, the Western Digital harddrive was RMA'd around one year ago and I got a new one. The CPU was part of a recent upgrade I performed around the begining of the year. The memory is the only thing besides the case that has actually never been replaced at some point in time since I first built the rig.

But alas, more testing to do, I thank you guys for all your help in this issue, and your paitience is well appreciated. I work all the time and even weekends so I barely get the chance to work on the computer on a regular basis.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.