Raid - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2007, 09:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Raid

I have finally decided to clean out my pc and reformat with a fresh install of windows . I want to create a hardware rather then software raid I currently have for my 1tb. I have no floppy drive, so how can I add the drivers during windows install without using a floppy drive???
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 10:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 511
Default Re: Raid

Can you do it through an External HD...I don't know. =/
__________________

__________________
Computer
HAF 932 -- ASUS P8Z68-V
Intel i5 @ 4.5Ghz -- CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
8GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black 1600MHz -- 2x XFX ATi Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Raze664 is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 10:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Raid

Use nlite and slipstream them into your install. Then you dont ever have to worry about trying to use a floppy drive again.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 11:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Raid

how would I go about doing that have never slipstreamed anything myself just read about it
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 12:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Raid

nlite tutorial - Google Search

those will be of much greater help then me trying to guide you.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 12:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Raid

no I got all that and done it but I am struggling with finding the generic file for my motherboards raid controller.

Is this the driver I need:
Intel® 5000V Chipset RAID/AHCI Software - Intel® Matrix Storage Manager [IATA60.EXE]

my mobo is an asus p5b deluxe with an intel ICH8R raid controller
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 01:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Raid

I would also check out these

ASUS P5B-VM RAID Driver v 1.17.08.01 - TechSpot Drivers

It seems as if these might be the ones you need.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 01:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Raid

no I don't want to use the jmicron controller as my main control chip is intel IH8R
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 01:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Raid

You can try the ones you linked to. See if they work.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 08:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Raid

Google driver pack. download their raid (mass storage) drivers and driverbase. Copy your xp files to a folder on your desktop named xp. head driver base to the folder. it will slipstream every known raid driver to your xp disc. you can use this program to make an xp cd that contain almost every driver out.

that said I wouldn't raid a Terabyte. you will wake up mad one day when you have a dead TB. people don't realize that raid trades speed for reliability. scsi drives will work because they are twice are rugged as a ide or sata drive.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IDE RAID and SATA RAID togather abadjay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-02-2007 02:37 PM
Windows raid inatey Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-29-2007 11:58 PM
Pre-RAID Guide veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-20-2007 11:26 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.