RAID 1 (Mirror) and XP Professional - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2004, 06:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to sjm1027 Send a message via Yahoo to sjm1027
Default RAID 1 (Mirror) and XP Professional

Hello,

I have had to reformat my hard drive because I thought it was the best way to get out of a mess I got myself into. You know the computer from HELL day.
I have a RAID 1 (Mirror) configuration and really want to keep it. This system worked for over 3 weeks flawlessly and all of a sudden I think I had some software issues or graphic card issues. I then did a memory check and the disk corrupted my system.
So I am at ground 0 and I can't even load XP Pro into my system.
For some reason it thinks there is something on my drive and it is in a loop of booting, then it formats my drive, then it thinks there is a windows folder on it still and askes me to write over it. I say ok to let it write over it and I never see any graphics it just reboots and repeats the whole process over and over again. I am loading the software correctly I see the license agreement but it never starts to load just goes in and copies the 3rd party software like it should then it writes some files on disk but in a dos type enviornment. I never see the black XP screen in this whole process.
Do you think it is seeing the mirrored drive? Any ideas?

11 hours between last night and today... I need a drink!

Thanks for any help you may have.

Steve
__________________

sjm1027 is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 08:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Default

Try booting off a windows startup disk and using "fdisk /mbr".
__________________

__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 08:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to sjm1027 Send a message via Yahoo to sjm1027
Default

So you mean boot using xp pro disk and then where do I type in fdisk command? Do I do a repair or try to get into a dos type enviorment? Can you tell me more?

Thanks for helping out
Steve
sjm1027 is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 09:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

If your drives are mirrored then its probably seeing the old operating system on the mirrored disk. You can try what mdshort said and get yerself a Windows 98 se boot disk HERE and run the command - fdisk /mbr, when you get to the a:\> prompt.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 10:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to sjm1027 Send a message via Yahoo to sjm1027
Default

Thanks,
I will give that a try tomorrow morning with my coffee!

Thanks
Steve
sjm1027 is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 07:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to sjm1027 Send a message via Yahoo to sjm1027
Default

Well I gave fdisk /mbr a try and it was a command not recognized.

Thanks
Steve
__________________

sjm1027 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.