Raid-1 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2008, 02:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Default Raid-1

Hi, just a few questions about Raid-1 setup.

I was mainly going to use this setup for data backup. Im using windows XP home.

Can I use two unidentical drives for this setup?

When I implement this setup with the second drive automatically copy everything that was on the old hard drive or do I need to do this setup from two formatted drives?
__________________

morrty is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 09:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Raid-1

I'm no master to the raid scene but I don't think that both drives need to be formatted. But I would do a good backup just in case.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 10:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Raid-1

Yes you can use identical drives. But as mentioned you can not jsut transfer you isntall to a RAID config. It wont just auto copy it. you will have to format and install Windows onto the RAID Array. If not then Windows wont be on the raid jsut on the single drive. Defeats the purpose.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 03:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default Re: Raid-1

Remember, RAID is not a backup. You will be better off sticking the second drive in a external and doing regular backups.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 04:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Raid-1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trifid View Post
Remember, RAID is not a backup. You will be better off sticking the second drive in a external and doing regular backups.
exactly
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 09:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Default Re: Raid-1

I was doing some more research on the raid configuration. I think you guys are talking about RAID-0 which I know is not a data backup but RAID-1 is a mirror of the drive and can be syncronized if one drive fails.

I also looked into the identical drive question I ask earlier and you can use two drives that are not identical but the larger drive will be the size of the smaller one and it also depends on the RAID controller your using.

RAID-1 is setup when you need fault tolerance and is a mirror of the the other drive. Therefore it is like a data backup in the sense that if one drive fails you still have the second drive fully functional and ready to take over the job.


When I asked these questions I was at work and unable to check due to time but I just wanted to share this now that I've looked it up myself.

Thanks for the help guys.
-morrty
morrty is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 10:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Raid-1

Quote:
Originally Posted by morrty View Post
I was doing some more research on the raid configuration. I think you guys are talking about RAID-0 which I know is not a data backup but RAID-1 is a mirror of the drive and can be syncronized if one drive fails.

I also looked into the identical drive question I ask earlier and you can use two drives that are not identical but the larger drive will be the size of the smaller one and it also depends on the RAID controller your using.

RAID-1 is setup when you need fault tolerance and is a mirror of the the other drive. Therefore it is like a data backup in the sense that if one drive fails you still have the second drive fully functional and ready to take over the job.


When I asked these questions I was at work and unable to check due to time but I just wanted to share this now that I've looked it up myself.

Thanks for the help guys.
-morrty
it isn't going to work like you think when the first drive fail, and it going to fail
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 12:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Raid-1

I thought that was Raid 5 that had the Mirroring? Where you can get it to have the fault tolerance where if one drive fails the other takes over.

Honestly this is only good in a Server setup. For personal use. RAID is not worth it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 12:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Raid-1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
I thought that was Raid 5 that had the Mirroring? Where you can get it to have the fault tolerance where if one drive fails the other takes over.

Honestly this is only good in a Server setup. For personal use. RAID is not worth it.

raid 5 is a safer span than raid 0. you take 6 drive and it shows as one. you're right raid isn't worth it especially with ide drives
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 03:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default Re: Raid-1

Quote:
Originally Posted by morrty View Post
I was doing some more research on the raid configuration. I think you guys are talking about RAID-0 which I know is not a data backup but RAID-1 is a mirror of the drive and can be syncronized if one drive fails.

I also looked into the identical drive question I ask earlier and you can use two drives that are not identical but the larger drive will be the size of the smaller one and it also depends on the RAID controller your using.

RAID-1 is setup when you need fault tolerance and is a mirror of the the other drive. Therefore it is like a data backup in the sense that if one drive fails you still have the second drive fully functional and ready to take over the job.


When I asked these questions I was at work and unable to check due to time but I just wanted to share this now that I've looked it up myself.

Thanks for the help guys.
-morrty
Yes, you get redundancy but what if you get a virus that eats away at your files/embeds itself in everything? What if there is a powersurge that blows both your drives? Ok, extreme examples but having RAID is not a guarantee. I was going to have a RAID0+1 setup but decided against it to have a external backup.

Also I found RAID0 has given me a slight performance increase with a 16k strip size.

Eric RAID5 can be on 3 or more drives. 6 allows for RAID50. ^_^.

Good link for different types of RAID: RAID level 5
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IDE RAID and SATA RAID togather abadjay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-02-2007 02:37 PM
Windows raid inatey Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-29-2007 11:58 PM
Pre-RAID Guide veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-20-2007 11:26 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.