Raid 0 and WinXP installation issues - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2005, 10:46 AM   #11 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you didn't change them to dynamic disc did you?
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 05:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Olan1Durai
Default

... I think I raided them using the nVidia thing(when it boots up), then I formatted them to NTFS in windows using the "Computer Managment",

Now only my 200GB HD and my DVD recorder now show up on the "Computer Management" thing...
__________________

__________________
\"Perhaps I know why it is man alone who laughs; it is only he who suffers so much to invent laughter\"
-Neitzsche

Rig:
AMD Athlon FX-55
2GB Corsair RAM
Sapphire Radeon X850 XT PCI-e
2x RAID-0 73.6GB WD Raptor
Olan1Durai is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 41
Send a message via ICQ to an0nym0us Send a message via AIM to an0nym0us
Default

what the hell? i've said it once and i'll say it again do it right the first time or do it wrong many times.

idiot [/napolean]
__________________
Intel 550 - Abit AS8 - 1gb Corsair XMS - 6600GT - 74gb Raptor
--------------------------
Intel 520 - Intel 915PBL - 512mb Corsair DDR2 - X700 Pro - 160gb Seagate
--------------------------
Barton 2500+ - Gigabyte GA-7N400L - 1gb Corsair - 9600XT - 80gb Western Digital
--------------------------
Toshiba M35X-S149 - Intel 1.5ghz Celeron - 512mb PC2700 - 15.4\" widescreen - 60gb HD
an0nym0us is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 10:10 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Olan1Durai
Default

... thank you for that wonderful insight Anonymous; thanks for taking those few seconds out of your day to specifically insult me for my ignorance, and for the constructive manner in which you did it... thank you...

Now, that aside, does anyone have any clues as to what I can do about it, should I take hte HDs over to my other PC, format them there, and take them back, while clearing all of the RAID setups?

Edit: I apologise An0nym0us, I do not wish this to turn into a flame war... and, for those who wish to help me out a bit, will a USB floppy drive work as my A: drive? I'm considering borrowing one from a friend...

Thanks,
Olan
__________________
\"Perhaps I know why it is man alone who laughs; it is only he who suffers so much to invent laughter\"
-Neitzsche

Rig:
AMD Athlon FX-55
2GB Corsair RAM
Sapphire Radeon X850 XT PCI-e
2x RAID-0 73.6GB WD Raptor
Olan1Durai is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 10:49 AM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Olan1Durai
... thank you for that wonderful insight Anonymous; thanks for taking those few seconds out of your day to specifically insult me for my ignorance, and for the constructive manner in which you did it... thank you...

Now, that aside, does anyone have any clues as to what I can do about it, should I take hte HDs over to my other PC, format them there, and take them back, while clearing all of the RAID setups?

Edit: I apologise An0nym0us, I do not wish this to turn into a flame war... and, for those who wish to help me out a bit, will a USB floppy drive work as my A: drive? I'm considering borrowing one from a friend...

Thanks,
Olan
I don't know about the usb floppy, try erasing those hard drive and start over
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 11:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Olan1Durai
Default

Alright... Heh, I'll just spend those coupla bucks... thanks for all the help, I'll get back to you if I need more
__________________
\"Perhaps I know why it is man alone who laughs; it is only he who suffers so much to invent laughter\"
-Neitzsche

Rig:
AMD Athlon FX-55
2GB Corsair RAM
Sapphire Radeon X850 XT PCI-e
2x RAID-0 73.6GB WD Raptor
Olan1Durai is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 01:39 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'll give you some advice:
try to stay away from software RAID's. software is much more likely to fail than hardware.
if your motherboard has a RAID controller, use it. otherwise try and find a PCI RAID controller.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 07:27 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Olan1Durai
Default

Well, just figured it out, thanks a bunch... heh, my new PC is COMPLETE!!! *prances about in a little circle*


adding it to my sig...
__________________
\"Perhaps I know why it is man alone who laughs; it is only he who suffers so much to invent laughter\"
-Neitzsche

Rig:
AMD Athlon FX-55
2GB Corsair RAM
Sapphire Radeon X850 XT PCI-e
2x RAID-0 73.6GB WD Raptor
Olan1Durai is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 08:12 PM   #19 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Olan1Durai
Well, just figured it out, thanks a bunch... heh, my new PC is COMPLETE!!! *prances about in a little circle*


adding it to my sig...
What did you do?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 03:54 AM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

ooooh...an x850xt? that's gotta hurt

you shouldconsider returning it if you still can, b/c it can't support pixel shader 3 like the much cheaper 6800GT can
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.