Raid 0 and WinXP installation issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2005, 03:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Olan1Durai
Default Raid 0 and WinXP installation issues

I'm rather new to this whole RAID thing, so I am somewhat confused as to what to do.

I recently put together my new computer and have been having troubles installing XP on my RAIDed drives (two 73GB raptors). I have an alternate 200GB HD, which is what I am using as my OS drive for the moment until I can get this thing resolved..


What do you guys need to know to help me figure this out?

My Mobo has a built in Raid thing... it's an Abit AN8 "Fatal1ty"

... Any help yould definately be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
\"Perhaps I know why it is man alone who laughs; it is only he who suffers so much to invent laughter\"
-Neitzsche

Rig:
AMD Athlon FX-55
2GB Corsair RAM
Sapphire Radeon X850 XT PCI-e
2x RAID-0 73.6GB WD Raptor
Olan1Durai is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 03:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Did you install the raid drivers during the xp setup?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 03:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Olan1Durai
Default

... I have no A: Drive (which is what it asks you to put the Raid Driver floppy into), didn't think it was necessary; however, when the pc boots up, I am able to mess around with the RAID configurations (before it asks to boot with CD)...

Right now, I have the two Raided, and I am formatting them from within this OS installation... It is working.. Then I may try rebooting and installing again...

I have installed the RAID Drivers in this XP installation (same PC, different partition)...


Thanks for the quick reply
__________________
\"Perhaps I know why it is man alone who laughs; it is only he who suffers so much to invent laughter\"
-Neitzsche

Rig:
AMD Athlon FX-55
2GB Corsair RAM
Sapphire Radeon X850 XT PCI-e
2x RAID-0 73.6GB WD Raptor
Olan1Durai is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 09:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Olan1Durai
Default

Didn't work, anyone have any ideas? Will I have to buy a cheap external Floppy drive and install with that?
__________________
\"Perhaps I know why it is man alone who laughs; it is only he who suffers so much to invent laughter\"
-Neitzsche

Rig:
AMD Athlon FX-55
2GB Corsair RAM
Sapphire Radeon X850 XT PCI-e
2x RAID-0 73.6GB WD Raptor
Olan1Durai is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 09:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Olan1Durai
Didn't work, anyone have any ideas? Will I have to buy a cheap external Floppy drive and install with that?
yes. you need a floopy to hit f6 from the windows xp cd, then it will ask for the raid drivers from the floppy while it is in dos, so it will see the hard drive.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Olan1Durai
Default

Alright, well, thanks.

If anyone knows a way around this, I'd like to spare myself the few bucks for a floppy drive...
__________________
\"Perhaps I know why it is man alone who laughs; it is only he who suffers so much to invent laughter\"
-Neitzsche

Rig:
AMD Athlon FX-55
2GB Corsair RAM
Sapphire Radeon X850 XT PCI-e
2x RAID-0 73.6GB WD Raptor
Olan1Durai is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Olan1Durai
Alright, well, thanks.

If anyone knows a way around this, I'd like to spare myself the few bucks for a floppy drive...
there's no other way around it. an internal floppy drive cost like 5 bucks
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

maybe you can copy your 200 gig OS drive files to the raid drive with partition magic or maxblast if your 200 gig is a maxtor
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 12:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Olan1Durai
Default

200Gig is a WD, like the Raptors
__________________
\"Perhaps I know why it is man alone who laughs; it is only he who suffers so much to invent laughter\"
-Neitzsche

Rig:
AMD Athlon FX-55
2GB Corsair RAM
Sapphire Radeon X850 XT PCI-e
2x RAID-0 73.6GB WD Raptor
Olan1Durai is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 09:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Olan1Durai
Default

Damnit, now the Raptors aren't working,

Windows XP recognises them enough to allow me to "Safely remove" them... but it doesn't recognise them when I try to use my administrative tools to mess with 'em....

any ideas?
__________________

__________________
\"Perhaps I know why it is man alone who laughs; it is only he who suffers so much to invent laughter\"
-Neitzsche

Rig:
AMD Athlon FX-55
2GB Corsair RAM
Sapphire Radeon X850 XT PCI-e
2x RAID-0 73.6GB WD Raptor
Olan1Durai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.