radeon 7500 and dell - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2003, 06:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
Default radeon 7500 and dell

i have been trying for 2 days to install drivers for the radeon 7500 on a dell laptop. now online sources, invoice, dell and the manual all say it is a radeon 7500 modble card, but i have douts.
anyway when trying to install i get an error about the current driver and its inf file. says "not compatible with current adapter" another driver say "error in inf file" and then says "try installing standard SVGA display adapters first" well i have never see any such message before.
this brings up a new topic. how? how do u install standard SVGA drivers in win2000pro?

I have tried radeon driver, custom or hacked radeon drives, omega radeon drivers, dell radeon drivers and all give me similar messages. i have reinstalled windows2000 3 times, completely formating each time

how do i do this? what drives for the radeon card are out there that dont need the SVGA adpater first(why should they in a fresh install???)

please help
__________________

jabberwock486 is offline  
Old 05-29-2003, 08:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

call dell, they should walk you through it.
__________________

__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Old 05-29-2003, 08:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
Default

well at $2+ a minute u can forget that, and it might not even work. do they have an online tech chat? their email tech is automated and sucks anyway, just send u an html link to the sight about basics

i am not going to use their windowsXP!! i should have the right to use what operating system i choose. they need to make drivers for more than one version of windows
jabberwock486 is offline  
Old 05-29-2003, 08:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

is your card compatible with win2k? Sounds Like it probably isn't. You can make xp look and act pretty close to 2k.
__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.