Quicktime at startup..... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2006, 06:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default Quicktime at startup.....

So I know that whenever you open up Quicktime it will automatically place itself into your startup folder. So, everytime I visit a page with a quicktime movie, quicktime will automatically put itself back in my startup folder even after I remove it from mscnofig and choose to permanently delete it from my startup using microsoft antispyware. Is there anyway that I can have quicktime not automatically load into my system tray when I boot up??
__________________

__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 06:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Start-->Settings-->Control Panel-->Quicktime (check settings, disable tray icon).
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 06:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default

I don't want to just "hide" the icon from myself, knowing that quicktime is still there lurking in the background though sucking up resources so that it can open .1 seconds quicker than if it wasn't wasting them. Will this fix make it also not use any resources?
__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 06:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Uninstall Quicktime. From there go to this site and download Quicktime Alternative. It will allow you to watch Quicktime files without having Quicktime installed. It will also save from having Quicktime at startup and any other time.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 07:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fifreak3
I don't want to just "hide" the icon from myself, knowing that quicktime is still there lurking in the background though sucking up resources so that it can open .1 seconds quicker than if it wasn't wasting them. Will this fix make it also not use any resources?
I think it also disables Quicktime starting at boot up. I cannot remember ever having Quicktime in my startup programs.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 07:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default

That quicktime alternative would be fine but quicktime is always installed when you install itunes, and I use and update itunes whenever possible.
__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 07:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

go to start> run type msconfig > startup then disable qttask
like this

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 07:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default

Hey Mikee, I've done that but it replaces itself there everytime it is reopened.

How did you get your buttons to look so cool like that in your picture of msconfig? I tried but couldn't figure it out.
__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 07:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I use the royale theme for windows xp.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 08:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default

Try using regcleaner and removing it from the startup list
__________________

Biggie578 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.