Quick stupid question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2004, 04:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 97
Send a message via AIM to wead
Default Quick stupid question.

If I upgrade to win 2k from 98 and I keep the File System as FAT will the programs and files still be there? Will the registry entries for programs still be there?
__________________

__________________
-Download wead antivirus today using your brain!-
wead is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 04:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

What are your concerns with upgrading? Do you need to upgrade for any particular reason?
I for one, wouldn't even consider upgrading any MS operating system. Just personal preference with years of experiences to back it up. And if you did....I would take advantage of NTFS and move away from FAT. Without NTFS, a lot of the win2k functionality is lost. If you do upgrade, the registry and the file system should remain intact though....to answer your question.
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 04:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 97
Send a message via AIM to wead
Default

awesome well the thing is its not my comp. I upgraded it it was a dell. Dell hates non dell hardware. the dell w98 os wont function. its evil. I got a copy of win2k. So if I upgrade to NTFS all the programs will remain intact. Personally I use XP pro but thats my comp. This is what this dude wants.
__________________
-Download wead antivirus today using your brain!-
wead is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 04:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 97
Send a message via AIM to wead
Default

i got a bit of experience too. I just want this damed thing out of my apartment and the money in my pocket. I have 3 hours I copied the files to i386 on C: . If I run it from there will it give me the option to upgrade? I need to upgrade so the programs work.
__________________
-Download wead antivirus today using your brain!-
wead is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.