Quick Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2004, 10:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to Baby Jai Send a message via Yahoo to Baby Jai
Default Problem With Fonts

I would like to know something here...I have about 2389 fonts installed, now my first problem is this, I do not have File->Install Font. Im running Windows XP (registered version) not hacked. Another thing is when i use like Adobe or whatever and try to use the font, they are listed but it doesnt show the font, just blank. Is there a reason why my system is having problems with all these fonts?
__________________

Baby Jai is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 12:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

well there could be several problems. First what type of fonts are we talking about? are they type 1,2,3 or true type? if type X then you need to install a program like ATM and use that to install the fonts.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 04:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to Baby Jai Send a message via Yahoo to Baby Jai
Default

atm? They are TT...do you think its because i have so many installed? Wouldnt putting them in the folder install them or does something go in the registry
Baby Jai is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 05:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Baby Jai, indeed having so many fonts on your system can cause the kind of symptoms you described. I read a solution for it a couple of years ago on another forum... can't remember it right now... if i can't find it - i'll post back here.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 07:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

ATM is Adobe Type manager. It is a program that will let you work with Type 1 fonts. I was working a framemaker problem when I responded to this. That is why is used ATM...
Inaris is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 07:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

BabyJai, now that i think about it, the poster w/ the same problem as yours ... i think the solution for him/her was to remove some of those fonts and burn it on a CD-R. Whenever you need some more, you pop in the CD and you can access them from there.

The moderator (different forum) gave that suggestion and first i thought it wasn't that great of a solution - but when you think about it, it's practical. Like what are the chances you're gonna use all 2300+ fonts in one day anyway? So removing some of them and burning it on to a CD is good i think.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 07:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to Baby Jai Send a message via Yahoo to Baby Jai
Default

yeah but ecventually I will use them all, and i will have to put them in the font folder anyway, there is no way to have all these and use them|?
__________________

Baby Jai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.