Quick desktop question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2005, 01:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Quick desktop question

What happens if you save too many files/shortcuts on your dekstop?
Because my desktop is almost full of icons/files.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Supposedly, it uses up more memory than a desktop that is relatively clean.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Yeah, you should try it just to see what does happen. I imagine things will start to overlap.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I tried it. At first they were sitting to the right side of the screen with only a small part of the icons still visible.

Then they moved here, overlapping eachother:

http://img168.exs.cx/img168/9093/dekstop3ti.jpg
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default

Holy ****! that's insane...I've never seen a desktop that cluttered, haha
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Haha that's cool, it's exactly what I thought they'd do.

Wow that is one insane desktop... I have like 5 icons on mine.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 110
Send a message via AIM to Terencentanio Send a message via Yahoo to Terencentanio
Default

On my Win98SE they just go over the side... and show on my other monitor :P
__________________
* Your high priced security consultant\'s plane ticket: $1500
* Your high priced security consultant\'s time: $200/hour
* RealSecure nodes all over your company: $200,000
* Getting owned by 0day: Priceless
Terencentanio is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I used to have about 8 icons before I started to use Ares and run a translation agency.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 03:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Major, may I make a suggestion? Create a couple of folders on your desktop for like items and make a new toolbar on your taskbar for those folders. You'll have a much cleaner desktop and your files will be better organized as well.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 03:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

That's a good idea. Already did that a few times. All those MP3's will be copied to another folder once in a while.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.