Questions about upgrading to Windows XP - please help! Thanks. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2005, 06:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default Questions about upgrading to Windows XP - please help! Thanks.

Hey everyone,

My family and I are planning on upgrading our Windows 98 computer to Win XP since NO wireless adapter will work with Win 98.

We meet the system requirements for Windows XP...however, our computer is running at 375 Mhz (yes, it's pretty old) and Windows XP requires 300 Mhz. Do you think installing Win XP will cause our computer to run too slow or will it run just fine?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Ryan
__________________

ComposerRyan is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 10:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

It will prob run to slow. I was just working on a machine the was 1.7GHz and it crawled. I would suggest you take the money you were gonna spend on XP and buy a new computer. You can get a few ou there for aobut $300. IF not an option stick with 98. XP will run very slow on that machine.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 10:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

actually, if you set up the computer to run on best performance instead of best appearance you will be able to use XP, it will just not look at fancy as a new computer
talldude123 is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 11:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

True. It will still be slow compared to 98. Even when tuned for best performance.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 08:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

upgrading to win 2000 will work great!
derrmc is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 08:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

I agree. Since the system requirements for 2000 are much lower, it will perform better, and most wireless cards work with it.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 11:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
It will prob run to slow. I was just working on a machine the was 1.7GHz and it crawled. I would suggest you take the money you were gonna spend on XP and buy a new computer. You can get a few ou there for aobut $300. IF not an option stick with 98. XP will run very slow on that machine.
??? You couldn't get it to run fast enough on a 1.7. You musn't of confiured it very good then. What were the specs on this pc?
__________________
The Rig: Specs
e8500 @ 4.1Ghz, 4Gb OCZ Reapers @ 1152Mhz, Gainward HD 4850 GPU, Asus P5Q-PRO, Corsair 60gb Force Series SSD, Seagate 7200.11 320Gb, Corsair 620W Modular PSU, Vista Home Premium 64
zildjianchris is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 11:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

All you have to do is upgrade the ram to 512mb(sdram), turn off the eye candy and you will be fine. it won't move as fast as a new computer, but it won't drive you crazy in this setup
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 01:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Not A Super Techie
 
straightv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 496
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
All you have to do is upgrade the ram to 512mb(sdram), turn off the eye candy and you will be fine. it won't move as fast as a new computer, but it won't drive you crazy in this setup
i agree with this. i upgraded a computer with 64MB ram to 320MB ram and the difference was night and day.
__________________

__________________
1 fast and 1 slow
straightv6 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.