Question regarding trial online games - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2006, 10:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default Question regarding trial online games

Hello,

When I download a trial online game that is good for 60 mins, how does the website I download from know that I have been playing for 10, 20, etc mins? Is there an internal clock in the downloaded game or is the game sending info on my IP to a website?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 10:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

The program itself that is on your pc.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 11:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Thanks Alvin C...

But does anybody know exactly how it works? Not that I want to circumvent it, but just curious how a program "counts".
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 11:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 15
Default

Those programs use your clock and a couple other parts of your system to see a start and stop time. Therefor telling the website how long you have been playing or not. Its all pretty bunk, if you are trying to circumvent it. Well stop being cheap. Or just dont play the game.
Karlsdash is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 12:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Why would they use the website if I am unconnected from the internet while playing?

Just trying to understand the logic of how it works...I said I was NOT trying to circumvent..and you dont have to remind me that I dont need to play the game, my question had little to do with the game.
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 01:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Talking

Some games, if you pull the plug(of the PC) in the middle of a game it resets the time. Sometimes it works, and sometimes not.
pcrobot is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 11:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Thanks pcrobot...but is this because the clock on the computer is reset or the game? Still interesting to me how a program has a clock.
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 07:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

The program itself doesnt have a clock. It has a timer. The timer counts down. Just like a Role Playing game has a timer that tell you how long you have played it. Same thing but backwards.

So you say the game has a 60 minute trial. when you start the game it starts the countdown. If you stop after 10 minutes it saves the config that you have 50 minutes left.

It isnt that difficult to understand really. I mean if your PC is off how does it keep track of the time and it is always up to snuff when you turn it on? There is coding in there that many of us will never understand. Heck they can even tell if we are cheating now so a clock wouldnt be that difficult for them to code in there.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 11:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Thank you Makaveli...great explanation!
__________________

__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.