Question about OEM Software - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2004, 05:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Question about OEM Software

I have a question about MS OEM Software.

Does the MS OEM lience tie you down to that one piece of hardware? IE. If I buy a new computer and I retire my old computer, do i need to purchace another copy of MS Windows and MS Office and all that?

Or can I use the the same lience when I upgrade to new hardware (ei Motherboard + CPU + etc. etc.) provided that you no longer use the older hardware.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 07:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

Yes, you can reuse it.
__________________

__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 11:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

no you can't. legally the license dies with that machine. but if you tried to activate on the other computer it would still work. someone just asked this question recently
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 01:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Default oops

Quote:
Originally posted by ekÆsine
no you can't. legally the license dies with that machine. but if you tried to activate on the other computer it would still work. someone just asked this question recently
What happened to my reply ?
If you got a cd than it's legal.If you got a preinstall then no.
So insist on a disk.Dell is Hell.
bluto is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 02:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ekÆsine
no you can't. legally the license dies with that machine.
Okay..... so what happens if the customer has a lightning strike on there Pentium IV Socket 423 Machine? Socket 423 Motherboard are no longer avalable down here (you're pushing tin just to try and get RA stock).
Every time I see a socket 423 machine, I always calculate in the back of my head was the current pricing for a new CPU + PROCESSOR and most of the time RAM (RD Ram.... gotta luv it) just incase I have to sell them "You motherboard is dead".
Now if the end user would happen to have their computer die, and there is no way to get parts (always the case with Socket 423, and 99% of the time with Socket 370), it MicroSHAFT expecting the user to fork out more money just to have another set of liences?

Mind you, lightning strikes are a common event around here.


Mental Note : make sure I calculate the OEM software just in case my computer get hit by lightning.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 04:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i think bluto was right on having the CD's. my mistake for being an idiot. if it was pre-installed with no OEM CD than the licsense can't legally tranfer. i would go ahead and try to activate it on thier new machine anyways though, yes it is unfair.

i would think the manufacturer probably spends less on OS licensing if he doesn't distribute a CD. maybe MS gives discounts for that. Silesia could you not special order them these parts or are they hard to find anywhere? it is a good way to sell them high end surge protectors though
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 10:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Default Thanks

Quote:
Originally posted by ekÆsine
i think bluto was right on having the CD's. my mistake for being an idiot. if it was pre-installed with no OEM CD than the licsense can't legally tranfer. i would go ahead and try to activate it on thier new machine anyways though, yes it is unfair.

i would think the manufacturer probably spends less on OS licensing if he doesn't distribute a CD. maybe MS gives discounts for that. Silesia could you not special order them these parts or are they hard to find anywhere? it is a good way to sell them high end surge protectors though
Too many folks are buying pakage deals that sound great for the money,but it's not long till they show up here.
Try to find a small local dealer to put a system together for you.
But remember some day you might see,
"put in you Windows CD.
__________________

bluto is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.