question about java - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2006, 06:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Default question about java

in my add remove programs i have j2se runtime enviroment 5.0 update 4 and j2se runtime enviroment 5.0 update 6, scence i have update 6 can i uninstall update 6 or no do i need both?
__________________

lerner is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 06:41 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

um i think u mean u wanna remove 5 right? java u5 isnt affecting anything cuz its actually 6 running. sometimes the add/remove progs app doesnt work too well. it says i have 4 installs of c&c generals lol. just leave it there it wont do anything. if u want to check if it is still running for some odd reason then u can download regcleaner here:

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download460.html

click on the startup list tab and u'll see everything that is running when ur comp is started up. i actually dont have my java running unless something needs it and then it automatically loads once i do.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 06:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Default

i only wanted to remove one of them bcuz there taking up so much space on my drive
lerner is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 07:14 PM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

wow java taking up space??? r u sure ur talking about the right thing? how big is ur HDD? my j2se runtime takes up a total of 12MB
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 09:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Default

this is what i wanted to uninstal update 4 i wanted to know if i needed it or not bcuz it takes up alot of space
lerner is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 09:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Default

this is the image i tried putting in the above post sry
Attached Images
File Type: bmp java..bmp (95.3 KB, 7 views)
lerner is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 09:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

delete jave update 4.

its not needed, because the windows automatically uses the most up-to-date version of Java.

Its like having two music players installed, Windows just uses the default one.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 10:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Default

o ok ill uninstal it then
__________________

lerner is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.