The question about installed AOL Instant Messenger - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2003, 03:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 100
Send a message via ICQ to LeafLeaves Send a message via AIM to LeafLeaves
Default The question about installed AOL Instant Messenger

The error Like the picture.Click the button,the installed program is over.The installed process fails.Although the AIM icon is installed on the desktop,when you click the the AIM icon ,the error dialog box like the graph will still remind me.
what shoud i do?i don't know what is the matter with my computer.My computer operating system is win2000server.
This is my first time to install AOL Instant Messenger in win2000server operating system.In the past I have installed a few times AOL Instant Messenter in win2000professional,but everything will be okey.The error like the dialog box show is my first time to meet.It is my headache.I really don't know what happen.It is really annoying.Save me,please.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg permission 33.jpg (31.0 KB, 61 views)

Rome wasn\'t built in a day!
LeafLeaves is offline  
Old 12-31-2003, 01:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83

Why do you have so many WINNT/system32 folders?

Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 12-31-2003, 09:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
mikesgroovin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715

No, the error is getting the folder information from the pathing statements. These are located within the environment variables. The system is attempting to locate a file "GLJ1D.tmp" and then attempts to locate the file within the folders in the pathing statements. To fix this problem, that .tmp file (I have no clue what this file is) needs to be copyied to the folders specified in the error. If you don't have the error up any longer, you can locate these paths in the following manner:
Right click My Computer > Properties > Advanced Tab > Environment Variables. The variable you are looking for is "path" and the value should be all of the directories in the error message. Just copy the file to all of these folders.

Ever wonder why you can just open Start > Run and type in 'winword' or 'notepad'. The paths to these files are included in the path variable.

mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.