question about 98 and HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 10-13-2005, 10:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Send a message via AIM to dxcouch Send a message via Yahoo to dxcouch
Default question about 98 and HDD

i'm a novice computer builder learning as i go. I recently put a computer together and the HDD that was in another computer only read it as a 8gb hdd when it was a 40gb. when i built the current computer i figured i was gonna have to delete and reinstall everything and the problem would get fixed but surprisingly it read the pc as if it was only upgraded and still retained all its system files and after ALOT of driver updates for the new hardware it still reads the drive as 8gb. although this bothers me.. i do not want to lose all the work i've put in to it to reformat and try and correct this... my question however is... If i go and buy a new HDD to slave into the system, will it do the same thing as in only read 8Gbs of it.. This pc was gonna be for games mostly and it fills pretty quickly...

current pc stats:

Windows 98
ASUS A7n8x-x mobo
AMD duron 1.2ghz cpu
512 mb PC2700 ram
40GB hdd (read as 8 however)
3dFuzion GeForce 4 mx 128MB AGP

Old 10-13-2005, 10:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description

Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

Sounds like it was formatted as 8gb. If you use a windows 98 bootdisk and fdisk, delete the partition, make a new one and format you should be fine. I'm not sure if 98 has a drive managemt like XP does

Old 10-13-2005, 10:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie

deleting the parition and formating deletes everything though right? i really dont want to do that cus it took me 3 days to fix all the hardware problems with the on board devices and added on devices.