QBasic's OUT function under Windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2004, 09:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
Default QBasic's OUT function under Windows XP

Greetings.

I am having problems using QBasic's [remember those times :-)] OUT function. There is no output on my parallel port (LPT1). I'm running Windows XP and I tried the same thing on Windows 95 and it worked.

Any Suggestions?

Any help you can provide on this issue is appreciated.
__________________

The Borg is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 11:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default From what i can tell, its all in the security paremeters

The best way to explain this, from what i can put together, is that windows 95 allowed real-mode access to hardware, meaning that it would let software have direct access to your hardware, bypassing OS and going through the kernel.

Windows XP, in the footsteps of NT, 98, ME and 2000, uses protected-mode drivers, which basically means that software has to address the Shell and the Kernel, and does not talk directly to the hardware. QBASIC would have had to have provisions to go through the print spooler in XP.

Basically, 95 is like a kid unsupervised turning the stove on(he has direct access to the stove). NT, 98(se), ME,2000 and XP, however, is like a parent saying, "Are you sure you want to turn on the stove? You could get burnt. "

Hope this explains roughly how it works. If not, then I'll try to explain it better
__________________

__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 11:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
Default

I understand what you're saying... but how can I counter it?
Some driver, file or Registry Setting?
The Borg is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 04:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 30
Default

By learning C++! :P
Moses08 is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 04:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

Pretty much... or rewrite qbasic for XP
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 05:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
Default

Well, nothing that drastic it seems. I've found a far better solution:

>>> http://www.mattjustice.com/parport/par_nt.html <<<

Still have to test it a bit but it should work for now. Thanks anyway.
__________________

The Borg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.