putting a comma in windows xp account name - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2006, 04:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Default putting a comma in windows xp account name

is there a way to put a comma in my user account name? such as "lastname, firstname". when i try just putting it there it lists commas among the characters that you cannot use.
__________________

karjaneth is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 04:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Won't work, but i think you can use hyphens.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 04:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Default

i used a character that looks like a comma and it worked. all hail charmap.exe
karjaneth is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 04:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Why would you want to?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 04:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default Re: putting a comma in windows xp account name

Quote:
Originally posted by karjaneth
such as "lastname, firstname". [/B]
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 05:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

But you could just do "First name Last name"... lol
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 05:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Default

fine, long story. i'm addicted to the tv show 24 and i themed my computer off of it. my desktop looks like the ones in CTU, my bootscreen is ctu themed, as is my screensaver, logon screen and icons. i want my username to be in a somewhat more formal style than i've had it to fit with the rest of the theme. but its a moot point since i found a character in the character map that looks like a comma but is different.
__________________

karjaneth is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.