put a new IDE cable in and pc takes long! on windows screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2006, 07:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default put a new IDE cable in and pc takes long! on windows screen

Hi , i bought a new IDE cable because i needed to get 2 of my Pioneer and Lite-on combo drives working and the best thing is they both work... but everytime i turn on my pc, the Windows XP boot Screen where you have that little bar underneath the logo and tha.... it seems to be taking much longer than before why is this ? maybe around 29+ seconds or more i havent timed it but it seems well long.. before it took about 9 or maybe 15 sec
__________________

__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 08:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

It is most likely because it now has more hardware and drivers to start up. As where before it didnt have the DVD Drive to startup the drivers for. Startup times are always fickle. They can be really fast some days and slow others.

I would say just keep tans on the startup times. If they tend to get really long. Like 1minutes plus then i would start to worry. But 30 Seconds or so isnt all that bad. Heck mine starts up about 45 seconds to a minute.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 01:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

the computer has to process alot more information.

and also, you are running a celeron, you need to understand that they are basic, although your power supply seems pretty good!
talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.