Put HDD in HP PC not recognised ?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2006, 06:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Question Put HDD in HP PC not recognised ??

hi, i put my Fujitsu HDD in my HP Pavilion PC its only 6GB just for small files etc... i have connected it up correctly all IDE Cables are in Jumpers are set correctly and My Computer doesnt show the Hard Drive ? but Device Manager does ? pictures below


Help would be appreciated.. Thank you



My Computer Doesnt show: http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/6...omputer5vk.jpg

Device Manager Finds it: http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/3...findsit4ds.jpg
__________________

__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 06:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default

anyone ??
__________________

__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 07:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

doesnt seem like its been initialized/formated. What are you seeing when you launch the Disk Management Tool? Right click on My Computer>MANAGE>Under Storage you will see Disk Management...when you click on it and the drives load it will tell you right away the drive is not initialized and to initialize it. Do realize all data will be gone when you do this.

Typically this happens when A) the drive is brand new and B) It is of a file system of differnt type not supported by the OS or there is always C) just to be stupid..lol.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 07:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default

ok i done this... and it says... Disc 0 6.03GB Unallocated ?? whats that mean
__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 07:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Ok perfect! So it is recognizing it which is a good thing. Simply Right click on any blank area inside that disk space box where it says "6.03 Unallocated" and select "Create new Partition". Also make sure the "disk type" is set to BASIC. Dont do dynamic unless you understand what dymanic is and how it works is all I have to say
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 07:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

ohh also once you create the partition you will still have to format it. You can do this here as well the disk management tool provided by Microsoft is actually pretty handy. Just right click the way you did when you created the partition and simply select FORMAT..then it should show up as a drive under My Computer. I forget what stage it asks you to assign it a drive letter it will usually have the next available letter as the first choice.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 07:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default

dude your a star!!! its formatting now ill get bk with the results
__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 07:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

I promise you it will work..lol. This is what I spent no time going to college for and entering the information technology right out of high school and being in the game for 7 years at the age of 24...I just decided I didnt want to go to school and make the money right up front and not have to pay back student loans. I advise it to all people...lol.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.