ps2 and windows 2k? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2005, 01:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Angry ps2 and windows 2k?

unfortunatly my isp only allows me to have 3 ip addresses and well i have the 2 ip addresses used up and i got socom today and decided to play it online well of course i had to release the ip on one of the computers in order for the ps2 to have an ip and now that i'm finished playing socom i can't get the ps2 to "let go" of the ip address anyone else have this issue or anyone have any ideas on how to fix it
__________________

__________________
Specs:
POWMAX CP0327PL-4 - Case
AMD Duron 1.8ghz 266fsb - CPU
Syntax SV266AD Socket A - Mobo
512MB PC2100 - RAM
PNY Geforce 4 440mx SE - GPU
Windows 2000 SP4 - OS
Logitech 2 button optical scroll mouse
MicroInnovations Web/Office Keyboard
Motorola IMfree - Wireless Aim
z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 03:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

See if you can release and renew the IP.

ipconfig /release

ipconfig /renew
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 08:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Default

i know how to do it on the computer it's on the ps2 that i can't get it to release and if i just try to grab another ip b/c the ps2 has one our router has one and one of the other comps then it just says that the dhcp server cannot be reached but it's actually b/c there is no more free ip's
__________________
Specs:
POWMAX CP0327PL-4 - Case
AMD Duron 1.8ghz 266fsb - CPU
Syntax SV266AD Socket A - Mobo
512MB PC2100 - RAM
PNY Geforce 4 440mx SE - GPU
Windows 2000 SP4 - OS
Logitech 2 button optical scroll mouse
MicroInnovations Web/Office Keyboard
Motorola IMfree - Wireless Aim
z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 04:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Default

bump :-/
__________________
Specs:
POWMAX CP0327PL-4 - Case
AMD Duron 1.8ghz 266fsb - CPU
Syntax SV266AD Socket A - Mobo
512MB PC2100 - RAM
PNY Geforce 4 440mx SE - GPU
Windows 2000 SP4 - OS
Logitech 2 button optical scroll mouse
MicroInnovations Web/Office Keyboard
Motorola IMfree - Wireless Aim
z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 08:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Is the adapter removable?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 09:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to VICone Send a message via Yahoo to VICone
Default

turn the ps2 off
__________________
MCSA, MCP (070-210, 070-218, 070-215), A+, Network+, Security+<br>
<a href=\"http://profiles.myspace.com/users/17229411\" target=\"_blank\">MySpace</a> | <a href=\"http://mcmcse.com\" target=\"_blank\">MCMCSE</a> | <a href=\"http://brainbench.com\" target=\"_blank\">Brainbench : Free Certifications</a>
VICone is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 11:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Default

no the network adapter cannot be removed it's one of those new slim ones with the network adapter built in and i have tried turning it off am i just screwed until the ip is not used for a period of time and will go inactive and be released or what?
__________________
Specs:
POWMAX CP0327PL-4 - Case
AMD Duron 1.8ghz 266fsb - CPU
Syntax SV266AD Socket A - Mobo
512MB PC2100 - RAM
PNY Geforce 4 440mx SE - GPU
Windows 2000 SP4 - OS
Logitech 2 button optical scroll mouse
MicroInnovations Web/Office Keyboard
Motorola IMfree - Wireless Aim
z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 04:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

get a router.

here in columbus, our main high speed internet connection is through wide open west and roadrunner. with wow and it's 3 ip address your just need a hub to network 3 computers. with RR (which I have now) you have to have a router or you can only use 1 ip.

also, sometime when i get conflicting ip's I just unistall the ide drivers and reboot the computer
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 03:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Default

it has nothing to do with the computer and i have a switch and a router but no matter b/c the problem as been solved obviously the ip dropped itself over time or something
__________________
Specs:
POWMAX CP0327PL-4 - Case
AMD Duron 1.8ghz 266fsb - CPU
Syntax SV266AD Socket A - Mobo
512MB PC2100 - RAM
PNY Geforce 4 440mx SE - GPU
Windows 2000 SP4 - OS
Logitech 2 button optical scroll mouse
MicroInnovations Web/Office Keyboard
Motorola IMfree - Wireless Aim
z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 03:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226
Default

Why didnt you just connect the PS2 to the router or something? Isnt that the whole point of a router?
__________________

Tro1086 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.