Protecting Windows XP from users? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2005, 04:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 22
Question Protecting Windows XP from users?

I have a client that has a cyber cafe ( a place where you can rent a computer with an internet connection ), one main problem is that users are very destructive and they install/download stuff that's damaging the performance of the computers...

Can you recomend a program that allows me to protect the computer's permisions to install software, to change settings, passwords....

Another problem's the users usually open too many IE windows and other programs at the same time that consume system resouces until the machine just hangs... is there any way to control this?

Another thing is that the users once they are done, they leave programs/pages/etc open, and when the next user comes, instead of closing everything first, they just keep on opening new things until the machine just can't handle any more programs open at the same time and hangs up... this people is highly destructive and iliterate...

Please recommend me a program that can help me control this... I've been searching to no avail... maily because I'm not quite sure about which category to look in...

Can I control this using Windows User Accounts??

Thanks in advance...
__________________

nightwalkerxt is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 04:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

There are a few things you can do. 1 use a different browser like Opera or Firefox that has tabbed browsing. 2. Have all the computers use limited accounts where they cant download anything or install anything to prevent any damagew to the machines. That is the 2 easiest things i can think of. Other mind have some better ideas.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

I would say look into drive-locking software... such as CleanSlate.
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

At the library here, they have software that uses a time limit. After that time, it closes everything and logs you off for the next person.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
There are a few things you can do. 1 use a different browser like Opera or Firefox that has tabbed browsing. 2. Have all the computers use limited accounts where they cant download anything or install anything to prevent any damagew to the machines. That is the 2 easiest things i can think of. Other mind have some better ideas.
About the browsers... that's what I do, I use FF or Opera, but as I mentioned the users of this cyber cafe don't... and as a matter of fact I can't force them to use a particular browser whatsoever...

Another thing I remembered... is there any way to protect the programs that load with windows at start up... like a tray icon protector or something...

This is the scenario: I want to set up the computers in a way (programs, settings, tray icons..etc) and I want it to stay in that way no matter who uses the computer...
nightwalkerxt is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Use GPO. You can take away everything from them, icons, items, properties, permissions and more and more and more...
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

Put the accounts as Limited
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 22
Talking

Quote:
Originally posted by mrdinkel
I would say look into drive-locking software... such as CleanSlate.
CleanSlate?? I can't find it...



I'm checking GPO...

Thanks for the replies guys... I really apreciate it...

Edit: I can't find GPO either... I googled for both of them and searched them on download.com with no luck... are these programs available for download on a particualr page or library??
nightwalkerxt is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

start, run, type gpedit.msc this is only for pro


for cleanslate look here

http://infopeople.org/resources/secu..._software.html
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

there is a program my school uses called deep freaze on restart everthing reverts back to the way the school set it.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.