programs using CpU memory usage - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2005, 02:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to homerj14
Default programs using CpU memory usage

hey guys is their a program that can turn off or tell me which applications I dont need running in my processes in windows task Manager Such as Ipodservice.exe and stupid things
thanks
__________________

homerj14 is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 07:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

go to run then type msconfig then go to the startup tab and uncheck anything you know you don't want running then click ok then restart your computer.
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 01:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to homerj14
Default

is their any way to disable anything Else Because its showing alot less thing in MSconfig then what I actually Have running
homerj14 is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 01:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

No, not that I know of. But just because you don't recognize the name of process doesn't mean it's not important.

Take a few minutes to go through your processes, and check what they are at www.processlibrary.com

Most of them are probably necessary, but you may find some that are not and can take the appropriate action from there.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 01:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to homerj14
Default

alrite bud thanks alot
__________________
My BF2 account Homerj14
Support our troops...
AIM-House300zx
homerj14 is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 05:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You should have atleast 20 or more processes that are system processes that you need and cant stop.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 05:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Post usa screen shot of your task manager and entries in msconfig
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.