Programs at start up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2004, 07:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 37
Question Programs at start up


I have a question about programs that start when I
start windows. I don't wan't them to start up. I know there is some thing to write in "RUN". But I don't know what. Can some one help me. Or maybe there is an other better way.

Thank You


PERL is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 08:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506

under RUN tab, type 'msconfig' select startup and uncheck whatever it is you don't want to load at start up. Reboot and check 'Don't display ...... and you're done.

My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
zerozero is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 08:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 7

To access the startup list type "msconfig" w/out qoutation marks in the run command box.
Pentium is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 03:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25

what if you type in msconfig in the run command box but it only loads awhile and then nothing happens?
n00b is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 06:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268

Use Spybot! (make sure your in Advanced mode then | TOOLS | Start UP).....about a trillion times easier than MSConfig (well maybe not a trillion...)

The next person I have to tell this will get a BIG poke in the eye for being a DORK.
roho is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 09:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007

by the way, FYI msconfig doesn't work in win 2000 (least not in mine). U can download highjackthis and config what you want to start up and what you don't.
jaksback is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 02:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 37

Thanks All!
PERL is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 07:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826

click run, type in "msconfig", choose startup, it will show u all the programs that active when start up your pc. U just click on the column of the programs that u dont want during start up to disable it. U will prompted to restart your pc for the settings to active.


AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.