Programs close/can't delete/acting weird - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2005, 02:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12
Default Programs close/can't delete/acting weird

PIII Celeron 900Mgz - 384mb ram - WinXP Pro - 40Gb hard drive

All was well when I gave this machine to my daughter. Brand new installation of everything, including a format to the hard drive. Everything working well. One month later it is back on my workbench. Here's what happening...

At boot up I get a message "The system has recovered from a serious error." Clicking don't send will bring up the desktop. The error report that it references doesn't exist on the machine.?.

Any right click to the desktop or any icon or menu item will bring the pull down menu, click delete (or anything else for that matter) and the desktop goes blank, except for the wallpaper, for a few seconds and presto, all icons are back put the process did work.

A double click to a few (not all) program icons will show an hourglass then nothing. No program start. Some work, some don't.

When some programs do load you will be in the middle of something and they will close with no notice. Some will load and then disappear.

I have run Spybot, Adware, can't run Norton (it won't come up), hijackthis, it has Spyware Guard and Spyware Blaster.

I'm stumped as to how to approach this. Any suggestions would be extremely appreciated.
__________________

AlmostAGeek is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 03:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I would just do a clean install of the OS. You might have a virus.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 09:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Sounds like one. If you can get it online, try www.housecall.trendmicro.com.

A format and reinstall should work. Are you running a firewall on it? Does your daughter know what to do when it tells her that it has detected a virus? Mine would just keep clicking it to make it go away.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.