Programs always close slow, hangs for a long time.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mack

In Runtime
I'm a programmer, so I always leave my PC on 24/7. I run Windows Vista ultimate, so far it's been running for 24 days straight..

I noticed, even on a fresh boot. When I leave Visual Studio, Photoshop, SQL Server management, or any program open for say about an hour but I don't use them, and I go to them it takes forever for the interface to load. I imagine Vista is releasing the memory since it's not being used, but it's really killing performance. I don't run a virus scanner, because I don't download viruses (hehe).. but I've never had a virus or spyware in my entire life, and I know it's not that.

Next thing is, whenever I try to close those programs it takes FOREVER. Visual Studio '08 takes at least 5-10 minutes to close.. yes to CLOSE!! That's freakin insane.

I have a 10K RPM HDD, and 2GB PC 3200 Dual Channel ram. I know 2GB isn't much these days, but I'm poor at the moment.

What is Vista doing that is causing this? Oh yea, it also did this on XP x64 and x86. What do I need to configure to prevent this. Yes, I play games. But I don't play them but once every 4 months (no more time!) and I don't have any issues when I do play them.

So what are some things I can do to improve Vista that doesn't involve spending money? I got a few programming jobs coming up that will roll some dough in, and I will upgrade to 4GB or 8GB ram if my motherboard lets me (A8N32) but for now what can I do to prevent this?

I know I can close the programs.. but I loose my trade of thought when I come back :p

All my Vista quirks disappeared when I reinstalled Vista using a copy with SP1 slipstreamed into it. I've had no luck with Vista SP1 update.

I find it hard to believe that you have never had spyware. Even the most secure computer is vulnerable to spyware if you access the internet. You may just want to do a scan or two with a popular spyware detection program.