Program stops responding - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2005, 06:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 37
Default Program stops responding

wondering if anyone can help... i have some sort of problem when i'm working in word 2003. i'm working on a document and all of sudden my screen freeze and the monitor shuts down - cpu is still running so i just do a reboot. has anyone seen this problem before? i'v gone into microsoft troubleshooting and did a few things they suggested but nothing worked - so before i call in the repair guy i thought i'd come here...thanks for any help in advance.
__________________

carmey is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 06:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

your monitor shuts down ?

Is this only when you are in word ?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 07:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 37
Default

yes, only in word
carmey is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 07:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Have you tried to run the repair tool ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 07:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Detect and Repair through the Help menu to be more specific
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 07:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 37
Default

i'v done detect and repair, i actually uninstalled and reinstalled, not sure what else to do...think maybe a virus, i did virus scans, i have realtime virus software, not sure what to do..please help
carmey is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 07:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

pc or laptop?

What is your power scheme on?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 07:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 37
Default

pc
carmey is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 07:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Anything unusual in device manager for your display?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 07:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 37
Default

just checked, it says "plug & play monitor on RADEON 9250" and there is also a "default monitor" maybe it should be on default?? what do u think
__________________

carmey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.