Product Key activation exceeded? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2008, 02:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Product Key activation exceeded?

Alright so I stuck a new stick of ram in my PC today, the final peice of my new build.. and windows tells me I have to reactive, but I can't because my key has reached the maximum number of activations? I'm surprised it took me this long to reach it, Had this copy since 2004 and have been changing my computer ever since..

Now I know its LEGAL for me to install this copy of windows on this computer as many times as I **** well please, so this activation exceeded thing is just some type of ploy.. How do I get around it legally? This copy of windows is legal, so do I just call and activate over the phone? Whats that like?

PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 05-22-2008, 03:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Eric1's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 388
Default Re: Product Key activation exceeded?

Yes, just call them to activate your copy of windows. Just tell them you made a hardware change and you need to reinstall. Then it is usually good for something like four or more times to activate with internet.

"How May I Misdirect Your Posts Today"
My Rig: A.K.A. My Little China Girl
Intel quad core q6600 2.4 Ghz
8GB G.Skill PC26400 DDR2 800Mhz
EVGA 8800GT 512
Raidmax Smilodon case
Thermaltake 700Watt Power
Gigabyte 965P-DS3 S-Series
Western Digital 500GB SATA
Audiology 2 ZS Creative sound card
ViewSonic 22" Widescreen display
Windows XP 64

Eric1 is offline  
Old 05-22-2008, 07:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Product Key activation exceeded?

Eric is right. Just call. You will get a animated system where you put in a bunch of numbers and it gives you the access code. If they give you any hassles just ell them the hard drive died.
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-22-2008, 09:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Product Key activation exceeded?

We're all right. Just call Microsoft.

Tell them it's same computer, only used on this computer, and you need to activate because of hardware changes.

My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-22-2008, 06:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Product Key activation exceeded?

Just activated it over the phone and say that your previous install was affected by virus.

Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need steps for getting rid of SystemDefender.exe Trotter Viruses, Spyware and Malware 16 04-07-2008 05:57 PM
Changing product key? Xiahou Microsoft Windows and Software 2 02-07-2008 03:18 PM
No Product Key on PC Case = Fake Windows? Ioanni Microsoft Windows and Software 47 02-03-2008 06:22 PM
Product key Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 12 10-02-2007 07:43 AM
Office 2007 Product Activation philb101 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-28-2007 08:06 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.