processes grow in size after a while...why? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2006, 03:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 27
Default processes grow in size after a while...why?

Hello there!

I am having a bit of a problem with my computer, here goes:

First, my specs:
WIN XP PRO (came installed) SP2
3.2 GHZ
INTEL Pentium 4 with HT
1.75 GB RAM (1GB + 512 MB + 256MB)
600 GB Hard drive (SATA)

Problem:

I leave my computer on all the time (I hardly turn it off unless I go on vacation or something.) After a couple of days of use, I notice that a lot of the processes in task manager which used up 3 - 4 MB (or a low amount) of memory now use up a lot more (like 30 - 40 MB). When I restart the computer, they go back to where they originally were (3 - 4 MB). The processes are for my UPS, tv tuner, volume utility, AIM (everything which stays idle, nothing major).

The memory usage for these processes basically "grows" after a couple of days, and I feel it is just using up unnecessary RAM.

What can this be?!

No traces of spyware or viruses on this computer, you can be sure of that. I use SpySweeper (which I run every other night) and I know my ways around the internet to keep that kind of junk off the computer.

If anyone could shed some light on this issue that I am having, I would truly appreciate it. If you need any more information, please ask, and I will provide it as soon as possible.

Thanks!! have a good one
__________________

radium02 is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 05:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

This sounds like you are having a memory leak. As to how to fix this, I am not sure.
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 07:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 27
Default

Could it possible be bad RAM? I have checked the hardware though using diagnostics utility like MemTest and the Windows utility, and they did not report an error.
radium02 is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 09:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

go to start, run, type msconfig, go to startup tab, how many items are checked?
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 10:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 27
Default

About 9. They have to do with the sound card, the tv tuner app, adobe, and SpySweeper.
radium02 is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 09:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

how many processes do you have running?
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 12:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 27
Default

32
radium02 is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 05:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

dam thats quite a few are they all necessary?
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 10:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 27
Default

Yes actually. But I monitor what runs in my background all the time. And they hardly take up any memory. AT least 25 of them are under 1,345 K.
radium02 is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 01:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 27
Default

I'm not entireley sure what a memory leak is, but after doing some research, I do seem to have very similar symptoms of an occurance. However, a "memory leak" occurs with bad code in a script. But my issue is with MANY processes.

Any suggestions?
__________________

radium02 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.