problems with vista-sp1? here's the fix - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2008, 11:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15
Default problems with vista-sp1? here's the fix

so i installed sp1 last night, ran great for an hour. then full crash, couldn't load safe mode, and the system wouldn't even boot from the discs(vista or xp).

long story short, i threw in a linux boot cd and vista jumped in and said, "WAIT!!!!!!! i'll be good, i promise."

no problems since.

life is funny sometimes.
__________________

Nohbahdee is offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 11:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: problems with vista-sp1? here's the fix

lol, so random...
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 11:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: problems with vista-sp1? here's the fix

what's funny is it's something entirely not vista...since a boot from disc didn't work.

random anomaly with drive setup...or harddisk could eat it soon
then it will be violin music...and a benny hill skit
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 06:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: problems with vista-sp1? here's the fix

I bet you i know what it really was. You C:\Ntoskrnl.exe was corrupt. IF you read the topic on the SP1 download you would see that i have already posted this info on how to fix a install that gets corrupted before it is finished and how to correct that issue.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft releasing Windows Vista SP1 Refresh Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 01-10-2008 07:47 AM
wierd sound problems in vista NewCents05 Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 11-05-2007 08:47 PM
Vista Hard Drive Partition Problems falchion Microsoft Windows and Software 2 10-21-2007 01:06 AM
Vista Problems - Surprising? damopoo Microsoft Windows and Software 3 09-07-2007 04:51 PM
Vista activation problem Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 11 07-12-2007 04:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.