Problems reformatting - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2005, 03:02 AM   #11 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tro1086
Is Powermax made by Maxtor? From what i could figure it looks like its kinda the same thing that came with a new Seagate HD i bought. I never used the Seagate software thou. Well not the bootable floppy part anyway, i used Seagates software to copy my old HD onto the new one and use the new one as the master.
Oh really do you have a link? My 160gig sata seagate didn't have any software?

yes maxtor make it.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 02:10 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

when you get it to boot off of the XP disk you definetely can delete everything on the hard drive completely, then reinstall windows.

The XP disk and powermax CD's won't boot, says hit delete to go into bios, I hit delete and BIOS won't load, I made sure the CD autoplay feature was on, it won't regognized floppy's, I'm stumpted on how to reformat this thing.
__________________

macdawg is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 02:34 AM   #13 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

hit f8 a few times when you first turn on the computer. this should bring up a boot to sequence.

what mobo do you have?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 02:40 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

AOpen AK79D - 400 Max is the mobo.

I had one warning when it wouldn't let me reformat it says "If you decide to delete the newer version of Windows that is currently installed on your computer, the files and settings cannot be recovered"

So I know this sounds crazy, but do you think it'd work if I deleted the windows file all together? Go start my computer - C drive - and just delete the windows folder there?

Then get a black screen of death or something, turn it off and try to run the XP disk from there. Then it wouldn't be blocking me from installing an older version of windows xp, I know it probably wouldn't work but if the auto CD's won't boot, floppy drive doesn't work, I guess I'll try and put the hard drive in my computer and see if I can reformat it that way.
macdawg is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 02:50 AM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdawg
AOpen AK79D - 400 Max is the mobo.

I had one warning when it wouldn't let me reformat it says "If you decide to delete the newer version of Windows that is currently installed on your computer, the files and settings cannot be recovered"

So I know this sounds crazy, but do you think it'd work if I deleted the windows file all together? Go start my computer - C drive - and just delete the windows folder there?

Then get a black screen of death or something, turn it off and try to run the XP disk from there. Then it wouldn't be blocking me from installing an older version of windows xp, I know it probably wouldn't work but if the auto CD's won't boot, floppy drive doesn't work, I guess I'll try and put the hard drive in my computer and see if I can reformat it that way.
this way won't work. they put that info in your mbr which isn't in windows.(you can't delete that with windows tools, but powermax can)

autoplay only works in windows, not when you are booting.

did you burn that powermax.iso file as an image file?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 03:30 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 48
Default

My windows XP disc isn't bootable, so I searched google to find out how i could install XP without a bootable disc and I found somewhere on the Microsoft site that made me download a file and then write it to a floppy disc and it will work like a setup disc in case you don't have a bootable CD. I'll try and get a link for you.
monaro_man_91 is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 03:48 AM   #17 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by monaro_man_91
My windows XP disc isn't bootable, so I searched google to find out how i could install XP without a bootable disc and I found somewhere on the Microsoft site that made me download a file and then write it to a floppy disc and it will work like a setup disc in case you don't have a bootable CD. I'll try and get a link for you.
all xp disc are bootable. your bios must not be bootable or it isn't set to boot from the cd rom first in the bios
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 03:51 AM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
all xp disc are bootable. your bios must not be bootable or it isn't set to boot from the cd rom first in the bios
Yeah it wasn't bootable bcause some files were corrrupted on it, a result of leaving the disc lying around in no case for a few months.
monaro_man_91 is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 04:48 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
Oh really do you have a link? My 160gig sata seagate didn't have any software?

yes maxtor make it.
Just check out Seagate.com and they have the software on there site for download. Its kinda simple software for less technical users but it gets the job done. You will probably like Powermax more thou since you already use it and it sounds like it can do more then Seagates program. Seagate dose have a bootable floopy version of theres thou like Powermax.
Tro1086 is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 05:09 AM   #20 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tro1086
Just check out Seagate.com and they have the software on there site for download. Its kinda simple software for less technical users but it gets the job done. You will probably like Powermax more thou since you already use it and it sounds like it can do more then Seagates program. Seagate dose have a bootable floopy version of theres thou like Powermax.
thanks. i download their utilities yesterdays

Quote:
Originally posted by monaro_man_91
Yeah it wasn't bootable bcause some files were corrrupted on it, a result of leaving the disc lying around in no case for a few months.
LOL. I guess that would do it
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.