Problems problems... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2005, 10:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default Problems problems...

Ok, my computer has really been acting strange latley.

For the past few weeks, it has been:

Closing Firefox randomly. It says Firefox encoutered a problem and it has to quit.

Restarting randomly, not at all provoked (heat, excessive applications, etc.)

Games will quit randomly.

Music that I download is distorted and messed up.

50% of anything that I download software-wise doesn't work when I try to install it. It says there are errors during the installation.

I cannot do a Windows update, it freezes.

All of this happens only in Windows. Not in Slackware. What is the problem here?

I have run spy checkers and cleaned everything. I though it might be a virus and I didn't want to mess with it so I reformatted.

All to no glory.
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 10:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21
Default

You reformatted and still having the same problems? You might want to check that you have all of the right drivers installed.
__________________

knerrmj is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 11:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

what errors in eventviewer and also if you disable autorestart on failure? List 'em if you could. Maybe just a matter of installing mbd chipset drivers, but I dont think that would really explain the firefox problem. Installed any plugins on firefox?? I know a few mess it up, at least on mine. I installed the swedish chef plug in on mine, and although amusing for awhile, caused firefox to eventually become unstable.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 01:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

I just have a few words INFECTED
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 01:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

Hmmmmm Have you tested your ram DL this


http://www.memtest86.com/



also check event viewer the system log, you could also have a HD with bad sectors.
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 01:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

powersupply? have you checked it for any troubles? Excessive dust on the inside of your case?
Inaris is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 05:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Inaris
powersupply? have you checked it for any troubles? Excessive dust on the inside of your case?
I definatley have too much dust, just not enough time to clean it out.

How do I look in event viewer?

I get the blue screen of death whenever I turn off auto restart.

If it was a powersupply problem, wouldn't it do the same in Linux?
Same with memory...
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 06:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

event viewer is start / settings ..or just / control panel
then admin tools then click event viewer , the system tab
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 06:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Goodness...I have more errors than I can count.

Application:

Error Application


System:

Error DCOM

I also have some warnings about registry files not loading correctly.

Looks like my CD Drive didn't install the OS properly or something...
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 07:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

no, no... that's not it... the messages can all be corrected unless they are Disc errors. Look at what the DCOM message is and post that. Then what is the application problem?

can you see a pattern to the errors?
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.