Problems with Norton Installation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2007, 08:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default Problems with Norton Installation

I have installed my norton 2006 but when the configuration window pops up it comes up blank. I have tried intalling and uninstalling it but the same thing happens, i cant type in my product key cuz its just blank.
__________________

Steve000009 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 09:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Norton is the problem all together. Use a different free antivirus. There are lots out there.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 09:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Norton is the problem all together. Use a different free antivirus. There are lots out there.
No. Norton is widely recognized as being one of the most reliable and frequently updated antiviruses available. There isn't a free one that can truly compare in terms of security and reliability. For $25 it's the best protection you can get. Read a magazine.

As far as Norton not running properly check these things:

-Make sure you've got 256mb of ram or more, Norton uses a decent amount of memory
-Be certain there are no other antivirus programs running as Norton doesn't play well with them
-You should definitely check out Symantec's Knowledge Base. It's pretty good as far as online knowledge bases go and it's answered a few questions for me. Maybe send their tech support an email too, they can be pretty good sometimes.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jorsoft03
No. Norton is widely recognized as being one of the most reliable and frequently updated antiviruses available. There isn't a free one that can truly compare in terms of security and reliability. For $25 it's the best protection you can get. Read a magazine.

As far as Norton not running properly check these things:

-Make sure you've got 256mb of ram or more, Norton uses a decent amount of memory
-Be certain there are no other antivirus programs running as Norton doesn't play well with them
-You should definitely check out Symantec's Knowledge Base. It's pretty good as far as online knowledge bases go and it's answered a few questions for me. Maybe send their tech support an email too, they can be pretty good sometimes.
that's the funniest joke that I've heard in a long time
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.