Problems installing windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2005, 07:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default Problems installing windows XP

I am attempting to install Windows XP and it freezes. I tried two CDs. The first freezes when loading all the files, and the second one gets to the screen where it says press enter to continue, etc. etc... but then it seems to freeze tehre because pressing ANY of the keys it mentions has no effect.

Any ideas...? I was hoping someone here might have some answer...
__________________

kandieman101 is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 08:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Try resetting the BIOS or clearing the CMOS jumper or try a different drive if you have one
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 08:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I replaced the IDE cable for the hard drive and moved the stick of ram to another slot...

I managed to get past the screen "Enter to continue" but then I Get stuck on the license agreement screen.. it stops there

HELPPP!
kandieman101 is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 09:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Would formating allc urrent partiions and therefore having the "blank hard drive" work? Obviously my worry is that this would not work, and therefore everything would just not work.. an no operating system at all to use...
kandieman101 is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 10:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 159
Default

are you getting a blue screen that says hard drive not found?
What errors are exactly coming up ?
v930 is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 10:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I get no errors at all, it just... freezes/stops responding
kandieman101 is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 10:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I used partitionmagic and created a new partition, and it set it as the active drive. Unsuccessful at installing the OS, now the active drive is an empty drive. How do I change the active drive back?

ahhh!!!
kandieman101 is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 03:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 48
Default

I have had problems installing XP, but I'm pretty sure my problems are just some corrupted files on the disc. I rang up one of my mates who works with computers and he suggested to delete all partitions, it didn't work for me but it might beworth a try.

If you don't know how to delete partitions then run Partition Magic, and then right click on all the partitions on the list and click delete. Then press apply and then your done.
__________________

monaro_man_91 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.