Problems to boot from cd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2006, 04:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 58
Default Problems to boot from cd

Hi
I want to install a fresh copy of windows and by mistake I press Repair (R) so it asked for a password that I did not know so I typed help and it showed all the commands. then I did not know how to get out that screen so I just pressed the power button now if I want to boot form the cd I get a blue screen and a message saying STOP: cd0000021 or 22 hard system error and I have to turn it off from the power button so what is wrong the cd, or the cdroom drive?
Thanks
__________________

Sonia2M is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 05:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

try booting to the cd but not repair, instead goto a command prompt and then fixmbr and fixboot and then restart the repair installation.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 08:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

i would use a windows 98 oem bootdisk fot fdisk and format, then install xp
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 04:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to Biohazard_2.0
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
i would use a windows 98 oem bootdisk fot fdisk and format, then install xp
He's right, your HD's MBR may be messed up Do you have a Floppy Disk Drive?
__________________
\"I am a computer genius, if you dont like me gigabyte me.\" Taylor Lasch 10-24-05
Biohazard_2.0 is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 07:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

try fixmbr and fixboot though, I'm assuming if you're trying to save info you may not want to format. If its the MBR, then this should alleviate the problem. If you dont care to lose info, then I'd do what they said above.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 08:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

HDD manufacturers offer fix mbr tools, i was on IBMs site today and saw one, so you might wanna check there
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.