Problems After Using FIXBOOT ! NTLDR is Missing... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2006, 06:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default Problems After Using FIXBOOT ! NTLDR is Missing...

Hey all

I have a problem with a laptop that was not booting and came up with Unmountable_boot_volume on a blue screen.

so Microsoft recommended i ran chkdsk /r Preformed that and did not help. So it also said use FIXBOOT so ran this from the recovery console. But i ran it just with fixboot typed and later i found that you had to type fixboot c:

After i had ran fixboot on its own the drive would not even attempt to load windows and came up with an error "NTLDR is Missing" and the partition now showed no windows directories and was now only 10MB in size. Instead of 48GB.

So it seems that my partitions are screwed up is there any way I can reverse this to get the file structure back so I can at least add the drive as a slave and get the data off? not worried about the drive having to boot up again as long as I can get all the files off.

Any help would be great

Cheers

Sean
__________________

SeanBoon is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 06:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default

i am currently running getdataback to see if i can retreave the data but it is taking for ever to scan the drive like 11 hours to go. But if i can find a way to ge the old partition back that would be ideal.

Sean
__________________

SeanBoon is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 08:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Running XP?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 08:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default

yeah Running XP with Fat32

sean
SeanBoon is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 09:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Do this first:

1. Click Start, point to All Programs, point to Accessories, and then click Command Prompt.
2. At the command prompt, type the following, where drive letter is the drive that you want to convert:
convert drive letter: /fs:ntfs
For example, type the following command to convert drive E to NTFS:
convert e: /fs:ntfs
Note If the operating system is on the drive that you are converting, you will be prompted to schedule the task when you restart the computer because the conversion cannot be completed while the operating system is running. When you are prompted, click YES.
3. When you receive the following message at the command prompt, type the volume label of the drive that you are converting, and then press ENTER:
The type of the file system is FAT.
Enter the current volume label for drive drive letter
4. When the conversion to NTFS is complete, you receive the following error message at the command prompt:
Conversion complete
5. Quit the command prompt.


Then run a XP Repair
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 09:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default

hey mate thanks for the help, the drive is currently in another computer as a slave on a win2k pc because it doesnt boot. Would i need set it up on a xp computer as a slave to do this?

Also if i convert to NTFS wont that overwrite the partition that i lost? When the Acer laptop was working properly it had 2 partitions on it one for the OS and one for Acer backup. now when i view the drive on my computer it shows Local disk E: (the C: drive on the laptop) and has a capacity of 10mb and close to 3mb used and i guess this is where FIXBOOT created the new boot sector and lost the proper boot sector when i didn’t specify a drive letter to FIXBOOT.

Just a bit worryed that it will just convert that 10mb drive to NTFS and not find the lost partition and loose some of the data?

sean
SeanBoon is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 09:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

well then dont do the conversion yet.....did you try the repair yet?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 09:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default

The thing is i dont think windows repair will find any thing to repair... this is what happened when i ran FIXBOOT.

Quote: Using the fixboot command without any parameters will write a new partition boot sector to the system partition you are logged on to.
SeanBoon is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 09:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

1. Start your computer with the Windows startup disks, or with the Windows CD-ROM if your computer can start from the CD-ROM drive.
2. When the Welcome to Setup screen appears, press R to select the repair option.
3. If you have a dual-boot or multiple-boot computer, select the Windows installation that you want to access from the Recovery Console.
4. Type the administrator password when you are prompted to do so.

NOTE: If no administrator password exists, press ENTER.
5. At the command prompt, on the drive where Windows is installed, type chkdsk /r, and then press ENTER.
6. At the command prompt, type exit, and then press ENTER to restart your computer


is that what you did?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 10:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default

yeah thats what i did at the start to try fix the Unmountable_boot_volume but this did not work so tryed FIXBOOT in the same recovery console, but did not know that you had to have a drive letter after this command if you dont it writes a new partition boot sector to the system partition you are logged on to. doing this seems to have lost the orginal windows partiton and created a new one...

sean
__________________

SeanBoon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.