Problem with Win 2000 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2004, 10:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 175
Default Problem with Win 2000

I have a copy of win 2k, I reinstall my pc with it, It said pcmcia.sys can't be found?
I have already reinstalled my win 2k in the past , there was no problem .

when I restart my pc , win2 k doesn't appear immediately unless I choose the option win 2k professional(from the black screen) then the system restarts, how can I fix it?

PCMCIA.SYS IS in C drive

Thanks
__________________

kopenhagen is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 11:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Do you intentionally have a dual boot system, or is the OS Boot option something that is coming up after your latest install?

If it is, it looks like you installed a 2nd copy of Win2k on your system. The easiest way to fix this would be to do a fresh install of Win2k by deleting the partitions that the OS's are on and creating a new partition to install the new OS on.
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 11:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 175
Default

[b]Do you intentionally have a dual boot system, or is the OS Boot option something that is coming up after your latest install?</.b> I don't have dual boot system, nothing came up after my latest install, it really worked fine except this time.

what would be my OS boot option?
kopenhagen is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 11:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Your OS boot option is that first screen you see where you have to choose "win 2k professional (from the black screen)".
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 12:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 175
Default

is the OS Boot option something that is coming up after your latest install?
yes from the black screen

by deleting the partitions that the OS's are on and creating a new partition to install the new OS on.

How do I do it? should I format my drive and reinstall again?
kopenhagen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.